The Republic of India

Presidential Election Results - 1997

Dr. Shanker Dayal Sharma, the incumbent President would be relinquishing his office on July 25, 1997. The Elections for the XI President of the Republic of India was held on July 14, 1997. The Electoral College consists of 776 elected members of the Parliament of India and 4072 elected members of all the State Legislative Assemblies.


There are two candidates in the fray for this highest executive post in the country. Shri. K. R. Narayanan, the incumbent Vice-President of India and Shri. T. N. Seshan, the former Chief Election Commissioner of India.

Election Results