CONTACT: John Pavlik     November 24, 1997
 (310) 247-3000

44 Countries Hoping for Oscar Nominations

Beverly Hills, CA - Forty-four countries have submitted films to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, hoping to become one of the five nominees for Best Foreign Language Film for the 70th Annual Academy Awards, Academy President Robert Rehme announced today.

Last year 39 countries entered the competition. This year's submissions are one short of the record 45 entries set in 1994. Four countries entered this year have never submitted before. They are the Democratic Republic of Congo, Luxembourg, South Africa and Ukraine.

Two of this year's submissions are animated films - The Little Shoemaker from Croatia and Princess Mononoke from Japan. And two films have multiple directors - the Colombian entry, The Debt, has two directors, while Canada's Cosmos lists six.

This year's submissions are: Argentina, Ashes from Paradise, Marcelo Pineyro, director; Austria, The Unfish, Robert Dornhelm, director; Belgium, Ma Vie en Rose, Alain Beliner, director; Brazil, Four Days in September, Bruno Baretto, director; Canada, Cosmos, Jennifer Alleyn, Manon Briand, Marie-Julie Dallaire, Arto Paragamian, Andre Turpin and Denis Villeneuve, directors; Colombia, The Debt, Manuel Jose Alvarez, Nicolas Buenaventura, director; Democratic Republic of Congo, Macadam Tribu, Jose Laplaine, director; Croatia, The Little Shoemaker, Milan Blazekovic, director; Cuba, Amor Vertical, Arturo Sotto Diaz, director; and Czech Republic, A Forgotten Light, Vladimir Michalek, director; Denmark, Barbara, Nils Malmros, director; Egypt, Destiny, Youssef Chahine, director; Finland, The Collector, Auli Mantila, director; France, Western, Manuel Poirier, director; Germany, Beyond Silence, Caroline Link, director; Greece, Slaughter of the Cock, Andreas Pantzis, director; Hungary, The Witman Boys, Janos Szasz, director; Iceland, Blossi/810551, Julius Kemp, director; India, Guru, Rajiv Anchal, director; Iran, Gabbeh, Mohsen Makhmalbaf, director; Israel, Pick a Card, Julie Shles, director; Italy, The Best Man, Pupi Avati, director; Japan, Princess Mononoke, Hayao Miyazaki, director; Luxembourg, Elles, Luis Galvao Teles, director; Macedonia, Gypsy Magic, Stole Popov, director; Mexico, Deep Crimson, Arturo Ripstein, director; The Netherlands, Character, Mike van Diem, director; Norway, Junk Mail, Pal Sletaune, director; The Philippines, Milagros, Marilou Diaz-Abaya, director; Poland, Love Stories, Jerzy Stuhr, director; Portugal, Journey to the Beginning of the World, Manoel De Oliveira, director; Russia, The Thief, Pavel Chukhrai, director; Slovak Republic, Orbis Pictus, Martin Sulik, director; Slovenia, Outsider, Andrej Kosak, director; South Africa, Paljas, Katinka Heyns; Spain, Secrets of the Heart, Montxo Armendariz, director; Sweden, Tic Tac, Daniel Alfredson, director; Switzerland, For Ever Mozart, Jean-Luc Godard, director; Taiwan, Yours and Mine, Shaudi Wang, director; Thailand, Daughter 2, Chartichalerm Yukol, director; Turkey, The Bandit, Yavuz Turgul, director; Ukraine, A Friend of the Deceased, Vyacheslav Krishtofovich, director; Venezuela, One Life and Two Trails, Alberto Arvelo, director; and Yugoslavia, Three Summer Days, Mirjana Vukomanovic, director.

Each country is invited to submit its best film of the year to the Academy. Selection of those entries is made by juries made up of filmmakers from that country. Only one film, which need not have been released in Los Angeles, is accepted from each country.

The Foreign Language Film Award Committee, chaired by Fay Kanin with Nina Foch as vice-chair, will screen all entries, beginning December 3, before voting to nominate five achievements.

Films submitted for Best Foreign Language Film Award consideration may also qualify for Academy Awards in most other categories provided they meet the requirements governing those categories. Films not selected to represent countries in the foreign language category can qualify for Oscars in all other narrative feature categories with a seven-day run in any Los Angeles County theater during 1997.

Four films have won both the Foreign Language Film Oscar and another award as well: the 1963 winner, 8 1/2, also won an Oscar for Best Costume Design; A Man and a Woman (1966) also won the Best Original Screenplay Oscar; and Z, in 1969, also won for Film Editing. Fanny and Alexander (1983) won Oscars for Costume Design, Cinematography and Art Direction.

Nominations will be announced at the Academy on Tuesday, February 10, 1998. The 70th Annual Academy Awards Presentation will be televised live by the ABC Television Network from the Los Angeles Shrine Auditorium, starting at 6 p.m. (PST), on Monday, March 23, 1998.

© A.M.P.A.S.®
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
8949 Wilshire Boulevard* Beverly Hills, CA 90211-1972* (310) 247 3000