Offices and Facilities

Local | Southwestern | Southcentral | Eastern | Northcentral | Northwestern | DCF Facilities

The Department's Local Presence

The hub of the Department's services are the five regional and nine sub-offices and four facilities throughout the state. The regional office functions are overseen by a Regional Administrator who reports to the Director of the Office of Child Welfare Services located in the Central Office in Hartford. The responsibilities of the regional offices include:

Key information regarding the regional and sub-regional offices and the DCF facilities can be accessed through the following:

Southwestern Region {Top}

DCF Regional Administrator: Andrea Routh
Southwestern Regional Office:
3885 Main Street, Bridgeport, CT 06603
(203) 365-6200

Serving the towns of: Bridgeport, Easton, Fairfield, Monroe, Stratford and Trumbull

Stamford Sub-Office:
1616 Washington Blvd, Stamford, CT 06902
(203) 348-5865

Serving the towns of: Darien, Greenwich, New Canaan, and Stamford

Norwalk Sub-Office:
25 Van Zant St., Suite 15A, Norwalk, CT 06845
(203) 899-1400

Serving the towns of: Norwalk, Weston, Westport and Wilton

Southcentral Region {Top}

DCF Regional Administrator: Mary Ellen Tatten
Southcentral Regional Office:
One Long Wharf, New Haven, CT 06511
(203) 786-0500

Serving the towns of: Ansonia, Bethany, Branford, Derby, East Haven, Guilford, Hamden, Madison, Milford, New Haven, North Branford, North Haven, Orange, Seymour, Shelton, West Haven and Woodbridge

Middletown Sub-Office:
121 Main St Extension, Middletown, CT 06457
(860) 638-2100

Serving the towns of: Chester, Clinton, Cromwell, Deep River, Durham, East Haddam, East Hampton, Essex, Haddam, Killingworth, Lyme, Middlefield, Middletown, Old Lyme, Old Saybrook, Portland and Westbrook

Meriden Sub-Office:
Whitehall, Bldg. #2, Undercliff Rd, Meriden, CT 06451
(203) 238-6185

Serving the towns of: Meriden and Wallingford

EasternRegion {Top}

DCF Regional Administrator:
Eastern Regional Office
: 2 Courthouse Square, Norwich, CT 06360
(860) 886-2641

Serving the towns of: Bozrah, Colchester, East Lyme, Franklin, Griswold, Groton, Lebanon, Ledyard, Lisbon, Montville, New London, North Stonington, Norwich, Preston, Salem, Sprague, Stonington, Voluntown and Waterford

Willimantic Sub-office:
1320 Main St., Willimantic, CT 06226
(860) 450-2050

Serving the towns of: Ashford, Brooklyn, Canterbury, Chaplain, Columbia, Coventry, Eastford, Hampton, Killingly, Mansfield, Plainfield, Pomfret, Putnam, Scotland, Sterling, Thompson, Union, Willington, Windham and Woodstock

Northcentral Region{Top}

DCF Regional Administrator: Leticia Lacomba
Northcentral Regional Office
: 250 Hamilton St., Hartford, CT 06106
(860) 418-8000

Serving the towns of: Bloomfield, Hartford and Windsor

New Britain Sub-office:
1 Grove St., 4th Floor, New Britain, CT 06053
(860) 832-5200

Serving the towns of: Avon, Bristol, Canton, East Granby, Farmington, Granby, New Britain, Newington, Plainville, Rocky Hill, Simsbury, Southington, Suffield, West Hartford and Wethersfield

Manchester Sub-office:
364 West Middle Tpke., Manchester, CT 06040
(860) 533-3600

Serving the towns of: Andover, Bolton, East Hartford, East Windsor, Ellington, Enfiled, Glastonbury, Hebron, Manchester, Marlborough, Somers, South Windsor, Stafford, Tolland and Vernon

Northwestern Region {Top}

DCF Regional Administrator: June Wiehn, Acting
Northwestern Regional Office
:395 West Main St., Waterbury, CT 06702

Serving the towns of: Beacon Falls, Chesire, Middlebury, Naugatuck, Oxford, Prospect, Southbury, Waterbury and Wolcott

Danbury Sub-office:
131 West St., Danbury, CT 06810
(203) 207-5100

Serving the towns of: Bethel, Bridgewater, Brookfield, Danbury, New Fairfield, New Milford, Newtown, Redding, Ridgefield and Sherman

Torrington Sub-office:
62 Commercial Blvd., Torrington, CT 06790
(860) 496-5700

Serving the towns of: Barkhamsted, Bethlehem, Canaan, Colebrook, Cornwall, Goshen, Hartland, Harwinton, Kent , Litchfield, Morris, New Hartford, Norfolk, North Canaan, Roxbury, Salisbury, Thomaston, Torrington, Warren, Washington, Watertown, Winchester and Woodbury

DCF Facilities {Top}

The Department's operates four facilities which serve the state's children and youth.

Riverview Hospital For Children:
River Road, Middletown, CT 06457
(860) 704-4090

Riverview is a state-of-the-art 107-bed hospital for the psychiatric care of children ages 5-17 with serious emotional problems. The expanded Riverview opened in 1993, replacing and centralizing the services of three former facilities. Treatment for young children with less acute mental health needs is available in community settings, including residential settings and supported with Department funds.

High Meadows:
825 Hartford Turnpike, Hamden, CT 06517
(203) 281-8305

High Meadows is a diagnostic, therapeutic and residential treatment center for children between the ages of 12-18 with serious emotional problems.

The Connecticut Children's Place:
Superintendent: Peter Brown
36 Gardner St., East Windsor, CT 06088
(860) 292-4000

The CT Children's Place is a 54-bed shelter and diagnostic evaluation facility for children from ages 10-18. The facility is available to children statewide and has an on-grounds school.

Long Lane School:
Superintendent: John Lachapelle
Long Lane, Middletown, CT 06457
(860) 344-2800

Long Lane School is Connecticut's only facility for adjudicated male and female delinquents between the ages of 11 and 16 years requiring the most intensive levels of substitute care and custody. Long Lane School also provides Parole Services for those children and youth who are adjudicated and committed to DCF for placement in community-based facilities other than Long Lane.


The Department is interested in knowing how the DCF Website was useful to you. Please send questions or comments to the Department of Children and Families, Public Affairs and Information Office, 505 Hudson Street, Hartford, CT 06106 .

Return to
State of Connecticut
Return to
DCF Home Page

Last Update: 12/18/97