home  activities  about UCAID  membership  news  projects

[Abilene Announced]

[Councils Announced]


[CEO Announced]

[UCAID Announced]


Release Date: March 11, 1998

Greg Wood


Leaders from industry, academia and government will provide guidance on technical networking issues

WASHINGTON D.C., March 11, 1998 -- The University Corporation for Advanced Internet Development (UCAID) today announced the initial members of three advisory committees that will guide higher education's advanced networking efforts, including the Internet2 project. Drawn from industry, academia and government, the advisory committee members have all made significant contributions to Internet development, and will assist UCAID in the areas of advanced application development, network policy and planning, and network research.

"We are very excited to have been able to assemble such a distinguished group of experts.  The advisory council members represent unsurpassed experience in fields crucial to advanced networking in higher education," said David Ward, chancellor of the University of Wisconsin at Madison, and chair of the UCAID Board of Trustees. He further remarked, "Drawing from this deep and diverse pool of knowledge will ensure the continued success of the Internet2 project, and all UCAID endeavors."

The Network Planning and Policy Advisory Council, with interim chair J. Gary Augustson, executive director of computer and information systems at Pennsylvania State University, will provide input on the planning, development, and management of advanced networks for research and education. The Applications Strategy Council, initially led by the Thomas A. DeFanti, professor at the University of Illinois at Chicago, will advise on the conceptualization, functionality, technical design and development priorities of advanced network applications. The Network Research Council, with interim chair Lawrence H. Landweber, the John P. Morgridge Professor of Computer Science at the University of Wisconsin at Madison, will provide guidance on how to migrate computer systems and network research into use by UCAID members.

Nine initial members join the interim chair of each council. Additional Application Strategy Council members are: Catherine Ball, professor and chair of the linguistics department, Georgetown University; Y.T. Chien, director of the Division of Information and Intelligence Systems, National Science Foundation; Jerome R. Cox, professor of computer science, biomedical engineering and radiology, Washington University, St. Louis; John Dongarra, professor and distinguished scientist, University of Tennessee at Knoxville; Stuart I. Feldman, director of the Institute for Advanced Commerce, IBM Research; William H. Graves, president, Learning Technology Research Institute; Robert Kibrick, director of scientific computing, Lick Observatory, University of California Observatories; Clifford A. Lynch, executive director, Coalition for Networked Information; and Daniel R. Masys, director of biomedical informatics, University of California at San Diego.

The Network Planning and Policy Advisory Council members are Carole A. Barone, associate vice chancellor for information technology, University of California at Davis; Earving L. Blythe, vice president for information systems, Virginia Polytechnic University; James Bruce, professor of electrical engineering and vice president of information systems, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Ira H. Fuchs, vice president of computing and information technology, Princeton University; Gregory A. Jackson, associate provost, University of Chicago; Ronald Johnson, vice president of computing and communications, University of Washington; Kenneth J. Klingenstein, director of information technology services, University of Colorado at Boulder; Bonnie Neas, director of information technology services, North Dakota State University; and Scott Perry, vice president of Advanced Platform Services, AT&T.

The Network Research Liaison Council members are: Scott O. Bradner, senior technical consultant for information technology services, Harvard University; Deborah Estrin, associate professor of computer science, University of Southern California; David J. Farber, Alfred Fitler Moore Professor of Telecommunications, University of Pennsylvania; Van L. Jacobson, Information Computing Sciences, Lawrence Berkeley Labs; Leonard Kleinrock, professor of computer science, University of California at Los Angeles; Edward D. Lazowska, professor and chair of the department of computer science and engineering, University of Washington; David Meyer, Cisco Systems, Inc.; Craig Partridge, principal scientist, BBN; and Raj Reddy, dean, School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University.

About the University Corporation for Advanced Internet Development (UCAID)

UCAID members are developing the broadband applications, engineering and network management tools for research and education as part of the Internet2 project. Internet2 is a collaborative effort by over 120 U.S. research universities, working with partners in government and industry. For more information about UCAID, see http://www.ucaid.edu.  The Internet2 project homepage is located at http://www.internet2.edu/

# # #

[home] [activities] [about UCAID] [membership] [news] [projects]