Chennai: January 9. Tamilnadu Government has announced it's Tamil Cinema State Awards for the year 1996. Kamalhaasan and Sruti are selected the Best Actor and Best Actress respectively. Vijayakanth, Sarathkumar and Devayaani got Special Awards.

 In this regard Tamilnadu Government has released the following press statement:

 Under the Cinema State Awards scheme, to select the deserving actors and actresses for getting this award, a panel under the presidentship of Justice Gokulakrishnan was formed by the government.

 In this panel actor Saaruhaasan, cinematographer N.K.Viswanathan, dialogue writer Aroordoss, actress Vijayakumari, lyricist Avinasimani, music directors M.S.Viswanathan, D.K.Ramamoorthy, editor Devan censor board member Soumithra, director Durai, assistant director S.Samudram, director of Information Department Sivakumar and Tamilnadu Film Division director Amirtham were the members. 21 films participated in the competition. Accepting the recommendations of the panel awards are presented by the government.


 Best Films Awards:

 1st Prize- "Indian"(Rs.1 1/4 lac. and shield)

 2nd Prize- "Kaathal Kottai"(Rs. 75 thousand and shield)
 3rd Prize- "Purushan Pentaatti"(Rs.50 thousand and shield)

 Best Film Special Award- "Karuvelam Pookkal"(Rs.50 thousand and Shield)

 Special Award for the film which depicted highly of women- "Gokulaththil Seethai"(Rs.1 1/4 lac and Shield)

Best Actor Kamalhaasan

 Best Actor- Kamalhaasan ("Indian")
 5 Pavun Gold Medal, Memento.

 Best Actress- Sruti ("Kalki")

 5 pavun Gold Medal, Memento.

 Best Actor Special Award- Vijayakanth ("Thaayaham")

 5 paun Gold Medal, Memento.

 Best Actress Special Award- Devayaani ("Kaathal Kottai")

 5 pavun Gold Medal, Memento.

 Best Director- Agaththian ("Kaathal Kottai")

 5 pavun Gold Medal.

 Best Dialogue Writer- Vikraman ("Poove Unakkaaka")
 5 pavun Gold Medal, Memento.

 Best Story Writer- Kalanjiyam ("Poomany")

 5 Pavun Gold Medal, Memento.

 Best Music Director- A.R.Rahmaan ("Minsaara Kanavu")

 5 Pavun Gold Medal, Memento.

 Best Lyricist- Piraisoodan ("Thaayaham")
 5 Pavun Gold Medal, Memento.

 Best Playback Singer- Unni Menon ("Minsaara Kanavu")
 5 Pavun Gold Medal, Memento.

 Best Playback Singer- Sujatha ("Minsaara Kanavu")
 5 Pavun Gold Medal, Memento.

 Best Cinematographer- Wilson ("Sundara Purushan")

 Best Sound Recordist- Sridhar ("Karuppu Roja")

 Best Editor  - Lanci Mohan ("Kaathal Kottai")

 Best Art Director - D.Rajan ("Karuppu Roja")

 Best Stunt Master - Jaquar Thangam ("Poomany")

 Best Dance Master - Siva Shankar ("POOVE Unakkaaka")

 Best Make-Up Man - K.M.Sarathkumar ("Avvai Shanmugi")

 Best Costume Designer - Maasaanam ("Kaathal Kottai")

 Best Child Artist - Baby Aany ("Avvai Shanmugi")

 Best Villain - Prakash Raj ("Kalki")

 Best Comedian - Vadivelu ("Kaalam Maarippotchu")

 Receipient of 'Paeraringnar Anna Award'- Liyaahath Alikhan (Dialogue Writer)
 5 Pavun Gold Medal, and Memento.

 'Kalaivaanar Award' Receipient - Actor Chaarli.

 Awardee of 'M.G.R. Award'- 'Supreme Star' Sarathkumar.

 Awardee of 'Raja Saando Award'- Director R.K.Selvamani

 'Kavingnar Kannadhasan Award'- Panju Arunachalam.

 So says the government Press Release.