image image image image image image image

photo of the Hon. Bernard Thériault
Bernard Thériault
Minister of Intergovernmental
and Aboriginal Affairs

Bernard Thériault was born Nov. 12, 1955. A graduate of Polyvalente Louis-Mailloux in Caraquet, he holds a bachelor of arts degree from the Université de Moncton.

From 1978 until he was elected to the Legislative Assembly on Oct. 13, 1987, he was employed as chief curator and historian at the Acadian Village in Caraquet. Active in many community organizations, he is a former member of the board of directors and president of the Festival acadien and Théâtre Populaire d'Acadie, a former member of the Caraquet library committee and Caraquet chamber of commerce, former secretary of the industrial and business commission, and a member of the board directors of the L'Acadie Nouvelle daily newspaper.

He has served on several legislative committees, including the Special Committee on Social Policy Development, Select Committee on the 1987 Constitutional Accord and the standing committees on Estimates and the Ombudsman.

Following his re-election in 1991, he was appointed to the Standing Committee on Public Accounts and the Special Committee on Electoral Boundary Reform. He was president of the International Association of French-speaking Parliamentarians, New Brunswick Branch.

In 1993, he was appointed legislative assistant to the Minister of Health and Community Services. He was appointed Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture on April 27, 1994.

Re-elected as the MLA for Caraquet on Sept. 11, 1995, he subsequently was re-appointed Minister for Fisheries and Aquaculture. He was appointed Minister of Intergovernmental and Aboriginal Affairs on July 21, 1997. In February 1998, he accepted additional responsibilities as the acting minister of education. On May 14, 1998, he was re-appointed minister of Intergovernmental and Aboriginal Affairs.

He is married to Denise Bouchard.

Image Image Image Image image
New Brunswick | Department home page | Français
Canada | Members of the Legislative Assembly
E-Mail | Home | Search | Phone
copyright 1998
Province of New Brunswick
P.O. Box 6000
Fredericton, N.B. CANADA E3B 5H1