Sallie Baliunas

Robert C. Balling, Jr.

Patrick J. Michaels

Mark P. Mills

Dr. Willie H. Soon

Sylvan H. Wittwer

David E. Wojick


Sallie Baliunas, PhD, is Senior Staff Physicist at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics and is Deputy Director of Mount Wilson Observatory. Dr. Baliunas serves as Senior Scientist at the George C. Marshall Institute in Washington, D.C., and chairs the Institute’s Science Advisory Board.

Dr. Baliunas is also an Adjunct Professor at Tennessee State University and contributing editor to World Climate Report. Her awards include the Newton-Lacy-Pierce Prize of the American Astronomical Society, the Petr [sic] Beckmann Award for Scientific Freedom and the Bok Prize from Harvard University. She has written over 200 scientific research articles.

In 1991, Discover magazine profiled her as one of America’s outstanding women scientists. She is technical consultant for a science-fiction television series, Gene Roddenberry’s Earth: Final Conflict.

Dr. Baliunas received her MA and PhD degrees in Astrophysics from Harvard University.


Robert C. Balling, Jr., PhD, is the Director of the Laboratory of Climatology at Arizona State University.

Dr. Balling is also the author of The Heated Debate (Pacific Research Institute for Public Policy, 1992), a book looking at the issue of global climate change.

Dr. Balling is one of the world's most prolific contributors to the scientific literature on global warming. He has authored or co-authored over 100 journal articles and has lectured worldwide on climate change. He contributes a biweekly article to World Climate Report.

He received his AB degree at Wittenberg University in 1974, his MA from Bowling Green State University in 1975 and his PhD from the University of Oklahoma in 1979.


Patrick J. Michaels, PhD, is a Professor of Environmental Sciences at University of Virginia and is Virginia State Climatologist.

Dr. Michaels has been President of the American Association of State Climatologists and Program Chair of the Applied Climatology Committee of the American Meteorological Society.

Dr. Michaels has published over 250 popular and scientific articles on climate and its impact on society, including a book, Sound and Fury: The Science and Politics of Global Warming (Cato Books, 1992). He is the Chief Editor of World Climate Report. The magazine Nature has called Dr. Michaels one of the United States' most popular speakers on global warming.

He received his BA and MS degrees from the University of Chicago and a PhD in Ecological Climatology from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1979.


Mark P. Mills is President of Mills McCarthy & Associates, Inc., a Washington, D.C.-based research-consulting firm specializing in technology strategy focused on the energy industry. Mills is founder and publisher of the newsletter Breakthrough Technologies, and is also a regular contributor to the international newsletter World Climate Report, as well as other publications.

Mills has worked with over 80 utilities in providing strategic plans, market assessment, speeches, seminars, executive briefings, expert testimony and analytic research. He has provided technology "due diligence" on emerging products and is actively engaged in developing strategic partnerships. He has testified on energy issues before Congress as well as state legislatures and served as a consultant to the U.S. Department of Energy, and national laboratories. Prior to founding his business, he worked in the White House Science Office under President Reagan.

Mills obtained a BSc degree in Physics at Queen’s University, Canada, and completed graduate work in Solid State Physics at Rutgers University. He is a member of numerous professional societies and spent his early career in integrated circuit, fiber optic and solid state device engineering and development.


Dr. Willie H. Soon is a research scientist at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics. His areas of research include terrestrial climate modeling, atomic and molecular inelastic interactions, detection of extra-solar planetary systems, long-term brightness variation of the Sun, magnetic variability in the Sun and Solar-type stars, and work with adaptive optics for the 100-inch telescope at Mount Wilson Observatory.

Dr. Soon's Ph.D. (1991) in aerospace engineering is from the University of Southern California. Both his undergraduate and Masters of Science degrees are also from USC. He is a visiting scientist at the George C. Marshall Institute and an astronomer at Mount Wilson Observatory.

Dr. Soon is the author or co-author of 27 papers in the refereed scientific literature and a contributor to several books and magazines. He is a contributing editor to World Climate Report and member of the American Astrophysical Society, American Geophysical Union, and International Astronomical Union.


Sylvan H. Wittwer, PhD, is Director Emeritus of the Agricultural Experiment Station at Michigan State University and Professor Emeritus of Horticulture. Dr. Wittwer also conducted the original studies on atmospheric CO2 enhancement of the production of food crops.

Chairman of the Board on Agriculture of the National Research Council from 1973 to 1977, Dr. Wittwer has served as a consultant for all International Agricultural Research Centers, all U.S. federal agencies relating to agriculture and environment, the United Nations Development Program and the World Bank.

Dr. Wittwer is also the author of more than 750 peer-reviewed studies as well as the book Food, Climate, and Carbon Dioxide (CRC Press, 1995).


David E. Wojick, PhD, is an expert in benefit and cost analysis, especially of federal laws and regulations.

Dr. Wojick has been on the faculty of Carnegie Mellon University, where he helped found the Department of Engineering and Public Policy. He has also served on the staffs of the Office of Naval Research, the Naval Research Laboratory, the Environmental Protection Agency, and the Army Corps of Engineers.

Dr. Wojick is the principle author of the benefit/cost regulations for federal water resources projects. He has a BS in Civil Engineering and a PhD in the Logic of Science.