January 9, 2001Total Lunar Eclipse
(hit reload/refresh for latest version)
In the full moon night of January 9-10 , a total eclipse of the Moon was visible from Europe, Africa, Asia and parts of Australia.
See
NASA Fred Espenak's info
Hi, I'm Klipsi.
I was home for a live webcast but the skies were overcast, cloudy :-(

Check out the live webcam sites below and see other people's images here , here , here , here , CNN , BBC , .... more ?


More webcams: La Reunion - Philippines - Germany - Japan - Austria - France - Poland
More coverage:
France (with more webcams) - Germany: - South Africa - Luxembourg
-
spaceflightnow - spaceweather - google - skypub - CNN - Science@nasa
>>> Visit Universe Today for a complete list of astrocameras covering the total lunar eclipse.


For me in Switzerland this will be an evening event.
Eclipse starts at 19:42 CET (= 18:42 GMT, 1:42 PM EST, 10:42 AM PST) and reaches totality at 20:49 (19:49 GMT, 14:49 EST). Totality will last one hour and two minutes. At eclipse start (19:42 CET) the Full Moon is 26° high over the eastern horizon. At mid-totality (21:21 CET) the eclipsed Moon is 42° high , in Gemini.
Planets: Venus is visible low and very bright in the WSW at eclipse start, 14° high, and she sets during totality. Jupiter and Saturn shine 60° high above during all the eclipse, with Sirius and Orion joining the party.
 

The eclipse is also seen in Africa , Asia and parts of Australia .
In Oman the Moon is at zenith during totality.
In eastern Asia a relatively bright star ( mag. 3.53, named Wasat .... what's that ?) gets occulted during the eclipse.

Previous lunar eclipse
Previous solar eclipse (partial)
Next lunar eclipse (partial)
Next total eclipse of the Sun: June 21, 2001
Next total eclipse of the Moon: May 16, 2003

home: http://eclipse.span.ch