Home

Features
 What Is Arcade?
 Supported Games

Download Now!

Register
 Benefits
 Registration Help

Click for more information!

Support
 Arcade Walkthrough
 Troubleshooting, FAQ 
 Lost Passwords
 Contacting Support
 Find an ISP

Skins
 What Are They?
 Download Skins
 Creating New Skins
 Uploading New Skins

Forums
 General Discussion
 Technical Support
 Events
 Suggestions

Developer Info

GameSpy Network
GameSpy:
  GameSpy.com
  GameSpyDaily
  GameSpy 3D
  GameSpy Arcade
  GameLaunch 3D
  GameSpy Store
Utilities
  CheatingPlanet
  FilePlanet
  ForumPlanet
Action:
  3DActionPlanet
  Captured
  PlanetAllegiance
  PlanetAvP
  PlanetBlood
  PlanetDaikatana
  PlanetDescent
  PlanetDrakan
  PlanetDuke
  PlanetFortress
  PlanetHalfLife
  PlanetHeretic
  PlanetKingpin
  PlanetQuake
  PlanetRainbow6
  PlanetShogo
  PlanetSoldier
  PlanetTribes
  PlanetUnreal
  PlanetWheelofTime
RPG:
  RPGPlanet
  PlanetAnachronox
  PlanetBaldursGate
  PlanetDeusEx
  PlanetDiablo
  PlanetDungeonSiege
  PlanetEverQuest
  PlanetVampire
Sports:
  SportPlanet
  PlanetDeerHunter
  PlanetTonyHawk
Strategy:
  StrategyPlanet
  PlanetAgeofEmpires
  PlanetAnnihilation
  PlanetBattlezone
  PlanetBlackAndWhite
  PlanetCNC
Classic/Console:
  ClassicGaming
  PlanetDreamcast
  PlanetPS2
  PlanetXbox
Hardware:
  PlanetHardware
Community
  GameArt
  LANParty.com
  GameFinger
  Stormtroopers

Click for more information!
Download NOW! Download Now! Play Now!
GameSpy Arcade is your arcade for the Internet -- more than 200 supported games, from the hottest games and mods, like Quake III Arena, Counter-Strike and Baldur's Gate 2, to classics like Monopoly, Risk and Chess.

Download Arcade right now!
Heavy Gear 2, the sequel based on the pen-and-paper game Gear, arrives Arcade today! Suit up!
Explore the galaxy in the Conquest: Frontier Wars demo. Head into the worm hole!

   Sat · Jul 21 · 2001
Today in Arcade: SFC2, AvP Gold, Rainbow Six and Klingon Academy
7/21/01 11:05 PST |
Spiff
GameSpy is positively bursting with events today. Check it:

The gang from Eugenics War are hosting a special Q&A; / fleet registration session for their upcoming Klingon Academy tournaments. Meet in the Klingon Academy lobby in the Arcade software at 10:00 a.m. PST, 1:00 p.m. EST, 5:00 p.m. GMT to participate.

The guys from Digital Gaming League will be running a Rainbow Six tournament this afternoon. Meet in the Rainbow Six lobby at 1:00 p.m. PST, 4:00 p.m. EST, 8:00 p.m. GMT to play!

The Arcade Strategy Wizards host round 3 of their 5-week Starfleet Command 2 King of the Hill tournament. Meet in the Starfleet Command 2 lobby this evening at 5:00 p.m. PST, 8:00 p.m. EST, Midnight GMT to get in on the action.

The Arcade Action Wizards are hosting a 1-on-1 Aliens vs. Predator Gold tournament. You'll need to pre-register at the Action Wizards Web site to participate. Once you've signed up, meet in the Aliens vs. Predator Gold lobby in Arcade at 5:00 p.m. PST, 8:00 p..m. EST, Midnight GMT to play.

   Fri · Jul 20 · 2001
GameSpy Arcade Poker Updated
7/20/01 21:19 PST |
Spiff
If you're a frequent player of GameSpy Arcade Poker, you've no doubt noticed a few BIG changes to the game and its lobbies today. First up, we divided the lobby up into group rooms -- much like those you'll find in the other classic games areas of Arcade, like Spades, Hearts and Backgammon. We did this for a couple of reasons: 1) To allow tournament groups and leagues to organize their events without cluttering up the main lobby, and to make organizing events easier on everyone; 2) To give players who want a less hectic experience some less-populated areas in which to find and create games.

The other big change was to the Poker game itself. We tweaked the game's backend a bit to provide for greater flexibility for game hosts; now you can determine the minimum or maxmimum holdings a player must have before joining your game. Want to play some high stakes 5 card stud? Take advanatage of the billion dollar maximum, and keep out the small fries. Just want a friendly, budget game? Set the maximum low, and make the big fish swim in a larger pond. As a result of this new feature, you may find that you can't join a game. The solution? Scan the game titles in the server list, and find one with a limit that suits your budget -- or, better yet, start your own game!

As always, if you have any questions or comments about changes we're making to Arcade or our games, please let us know! Send e-mail to feedback@gamespyarcade.com, or post a comment to our forums.

Today in Arcade: Virtual Pool 3 Double Header
7/20/01 8:55 PST |
Spiff
Today in GameSpy Arcade, tear up the felt with the gang from In Stroke. They’ll be hosting two stick smackin’, ball crackin’ Virtual Pool 3 tournaments: an early bird 8-Ball APA tournament that kicks off at 2:00 p.m. PST, 5:00 p.m. EST, 9:00 p.m. GMT, and a later 9 / 15-Ball tournament that gets underway at 7:00 p.m. PST, 10:00 p.m. EST, 2:00 a.m. GMT. All matches will take place in the Virtual Pool 3 lobby. Drag out your custom cue, brush up on your trigonometry, and get ready to get down with billiards buffs from all over the globe.

   Thu · Jul 19 · 2001
Arcade Adds Reversi Rankings and Free Card Games
7/19/01 17:30 PST |
Spiff
If you've been in love with Arcade's version of the classic game Reversi for months now, but bummed that you can't compare your skills against other players, then today's your day -- we've finally released a new version of Reversi that includes rankings! Now, just as in GameSpy's versions of Poker, Hearts, Spades and Backgammon, you'll be rewarded for your hard won victories and punished for your humiliating defeats.

We've also added some more goodies to the Arcade free games bonanza: a fist full of Web-based card games developed by the kind folks at Casino On Net and NuVo Studios. You'll notice a few Nuvo additions to other areas of our WebGames section -- including great puzzle games like Removi and action games like NuVo Blaster. Try them out today!

Operation Flashpoint Chat Concludes; Tomorrow: Virtual Pool 3
7/19/01 16:45 PST |
Spiff
A huge word of thanks goes out to Richard Blenkinsop and the Codemasters crew for dropping by GameSpy Arcade today to chat about their new hit tactical action title, Operation Flashpoint. Over 160 rabid fans of the game flooded the chat room to quiz the developers about the title, managing to drag all sort of great information about upcoming developments. Miss the event? Worry not! Look for a chat log and other up-to-the-minute news on the Operation Flashpoint Network, 3DActionPlanet's brand new OpFlash hosted site.

Tomorrow in Arcade, we shift gears from action gaming to sports. The gang from In Stroke will be holding two monsterous Virtual Pool 3 tournaments: an early bird 8-Ball APA tournament that kicks off at 2:00 p.m. PST, 5:00 p.m. EST, 9:00 p.m. GMT, and a night owl 9 / 15-Ball tournament that starts at 7:00 p.m. PST, 10:00 p.m. EST, 2:00 a.m. GMT. Sign up to compete, chalk up your custom cue, and get into some serious billiards action!

Today in GameSpy Arcade: Operation Flashpoint Chat
7/19/01 8:55 PST |
Spiff
Today in GameSpy Arcade, join 3DActionPlanet for an exclusive chat with Codemasters' Richard Blenkinsop, External Producer for the new hit tactical action game Operation Flashpoint. Set in the Glasnost-era Soviet Union and packed with explosive tension and unprecedented freedom of action, Operation Flashpoint has already established a rabid following among European gaming audiences -- and it's currently preparing to storm U.S. shores. Here's your chance to gather some advance intelligence: drop into Arcade and interrogate Richard Blenkinsop until he spills the game's every last secret!

The invasion begins this afternoon at 2:00 p.m. PST, 5:00 p.m. EST, 9:00 p.m. GMT in the Operation Flashpoint lobby of the Arcade software. Don't miss it!

   Wed · Jul 18 · 2001
Tonight in Arcade: Virtual Pool 3 Tournament
7/18/01 9:02 PST |
Spiff
Tonight in GameSpy Arcade, hustle a few games of pool with the sharks from In Stroke as they host a 8-9-10 mix tournament in Virtual Pool 3. To get in on the action, you’ll need to register over at In Stroke’s tournament information page. Once you’ve done that, dust off your cue and make your way into the Virtual Pool 3 lobby in the Arcade software. Matches kick off at 6:00 p.m. PST, 9:00 p.m. EST, 1:00 a.m. GMT.

   Tue · Jul 17 · 2001
Tonight in Arcade: MechCommander King of the Hill, Round 2
7/17/01 8:47 PST |
Spiff
Tonight in GameSpy Arcade, join the Strategy Wizards for round 2 of their 5 week MechCommander tournament. This event will wrap up the second week of King of the Hill competition, which has seen some intense action in several classic strategy games, from Red Alert to Starfleet Command 2. Drop by and check out the action today to find out which mech masters will advance to week 3 of the competition ... and which ones will go home to mama.

Matches kick off at 5:00 p.m. PST, 8:00 p.m. EST, Midnight GMT in the MechCommander lobby of the Arcade software.

Events Calendar

Clicking the links below will automatically launch Arcade (IE users only). If you do not have Arcade, download it now!

Today's Events

Wizards AvP Gold
hosted by GameSpy Arcade Join the Arcade Action Wizards for some 1-on-1 Aliens vs. Predator combat. 5:00 p.m. PST, 8:00 p.m. EST, Midnight GMT



Wizards Starfleet Command 2 Challenge
hosted by GameSpy Arcade The Arcade Strategy Wizards' 5 week 1-on-1 Starfleet Command 2 tournament continues. 5:00 p.m. PST, 8:00 p.m. EST, Midnight GMT



Virtual Pool 3
hosted by In-Stroke
Chalk up your custom cue and hustle the gang from In-Stroke in an 9/8 Mix tournament Virtual Pool 3 tournament. 2:00 p.m. PST, 5:00 p.m. EST, 9:00 p.m. GMT



Virtual Pool 3
hosted by In-Stroke
Chalk up your custom cue and hustle the gang from In-Stroke in an 8-Ball Medley Virtual Pool 3 tournament. 7:00 p.m. PST, 10:00 p.m. EST, 2:00 a.m. GMT


ABB Backgammon
The Always Be Back posse hosts two Backgammon throwdown in the Backgammon tournament room. 8:00 a.m. PST, 10:00 a.m. PST, Noon PST, 3:00 p.m. GMT


GameSpy's Finest Backgammon Tourneys
in association with GameSpy Arcade Take on the members of GameSpy's Finest for several daily Backgammon tournaments. 12:30 a.m. EST, 3:00 a.m. EST, 8:00 a.m. EST, 10:00 a.m. EST, 1:00 p.m. EST, 4:00 p.m. EST, 7:30 p.m. EST, 10:00 p.m. EST


Klingon Academy
in association with Eugenics War
Join the gang from Eugenics War for a Q&A; / fleet registration session as they prepare to launch a series of Klingon Academy tournaments in coming weeks. 10:00 a.m. PST, 1:00 p.m. EST, 5:00 p.m. GMT


Rainbow 6
in association with Digital Gaming League
Join the Digital Gaming League for a Rainbow 6 tournament.
1:00 p.m. PST, 4:00 p.m. EST, 8:00 p.m. GMT

Most Popular

Click to launch Arcade into these most popular game rooms.

Half-Life
Counter-Strike
Rogue Spear
GameSpy Spades
Quake III Arena
Rainbow Six
Quake II
GameSpy Poker
Operation Flashpoint
Baldur's Gate 2


New Games

The most recent additions to the Arcade lineup of supported games and demos.

Conquest: Frontier Wars (demo) Heavy Gear 2 Cycling Manager
Ultrawheels Streetjam
SFC II: Orion Pirates
Z: Steel Soldiers
Operation Flashpoint
Baldur's Gate II: Throne of Bhaal
Legends of Might & Magic
Startopia

 

[Home] [Features] [Download] [Register] [Support]
© 1996-2000 GameSpy Industries. Be sure to read our legal stuff, or check out how you can
advertise with us and target your products and services to gamers.