Click to Search the National Cartoonists Society


Welcome To The Official Web Siteof the National Cartoonists Society

2000 Reuben and NCS Division Award Nominees

This web site is Copyright © 2001 by The National Cartoonists Society -- All Rights Reserved

Nominees in the NCS Award Division of:
Cartoonist Of The Year

Return to all other NCS Division Award Categories


Pat Brady, 53, of Sycamore, Illinois, is nominated for the Reuben Award for the year 2000 as the "Cartoonist of the Year" by the National Cartoonists Society. Brady has lived in in Louisville, Kentucky, Georgia, Florida, and Kansas, before settling in Illinois. He attended the University of Wisconsin in Whitewater, Wisconsin and once worked as a sports cartoonist for the Arlington High School newspaper in Arlington Heights, Illinois. Brady is married and has one
daughter. He may be contacted by email at website at Additional information about Pat and "Rose is Rose" is can be viewed online at United Feature Synducate's web site at


Jack Davis, 76, of St. Simons Island, GA, is nominated for Reuben Award, as the National Cartoonists Society's "Cartoonist of the Year". Born in 1924 in Atlanta, GA, his first published work was at the age of 14 in "Tip Top Comics." During World War II, he served in the U.S. Navy, where his cartoon feature "Boondocker" appeared regularly in the Navy News. He attended the University of Georgia, and moved to New York, where he assisted on "The Saint" and "Mark Trail" comic strips. In the early 1950s, Davis developed a following for his work with EC Comics, where he contributed to MAD Magazine in its earliest incarnation. He also worked on other magazines such as "Trump" "Humbug" "Help" "Sick" "Cracked" "Creepy" and "Eerie."
Davis' work has graced virtually every field of illustration and cartooning for the last six decades. In 1989, he designed the twenty-five cent "We
Deliver" stamp for the U.S. Postal Service.


Matt Groening, originally from Portland, Oregon, is nominated for "Cartoonist of the Year" in the Annual Reuben Awards. Groening, creator and executive producer of FOX's Emmy Award-winning series "The Simpsons," brings the longest-running prime-time animated series in television history to the airwaves. Originating in 1987 on "The Tracey Ullman Show,' "The Simpsons" has become a unique slice of Americana with its outrageous and irreverent portrayal of the nuclear family. Before "The Simpsons," Groening created his "Life in Hell" comic strip that debuted in 1977 and appears in more than 250 newspapers worldwide. In 1993, he formed Bongo Comics Group where he serves as publisher. In 1995 he founded and published Zongo Comics. In 1999 following the success of "The Simpsons," Groening unveiled another television creation, "Futurama," now in its second season. Groening oversees all licensing and merchandising of his characters and has authored many recent best-selling books featuring them. He resides in Los Angeles, CA.

Return to all other NCS Division Award Categories

The NCS thanks PR Newswire for their public relations and promotional services

Page art credits:

Help the National Cartoonists Society by linking to this web site! Details here.