Visit Your Local Station PBS Home
PBS Home Search TV Schedules Shop PBS Become a Member
Austin City Limits
Austin City Limits: Artists
Download Real Audio Player
Austin Skyline
TV Schedule Artists Interviews Backstage e-Newsletter About Press Room

   Anthology Artist archives:

Alison Krauss/Union Station and Merle Haggard
CMA Female Vocalist of the Year and Grammy Award-winner Alison Krauss and Union Station launched Austin City Limits Season 21. Following Krauss was country music legend Merle Haggard, known to fans worldwide for his honest, everyman songwriting style. With multiple Grammy Awards, a platinum-selling new album and lavish praise from some of music's most influential artists, 24-year-old Alison Krauss with her band Union Station easily qualifies as the hottest female vocalist in country music. It's no wonder the youngest member of the Grand Ole Opry earned four Country Music Association (CMA) awards in 1995 including Female Vocalist of the Year, Single of the Year and the Horizon Award. Krauss' second appearance on Austin City Limits reinforces the series' reputation for recognizing rising talent. Shortly after her first appearance on Austin City Limits in 1992, Krauss collected a second Grammy for her traditional bluegrass album, Every Time You Say Goodbye. For her return performance Krauss culled favorites from her latest gem, Now That I've Found You: A Collection, a diverse assortment of original tunes, country classics and even classic rock. On Austin City Limits Krauss and her mighty soprano soared through Keith Whitley's tender ballad "When You Say Nothing At All" and the sultry "Oh, Atlanta," originally recorded by British rock group Bad Company. She also delivered a poignant and emotional performance of her title track, "Baby, Now That I've Found You," leaving the Austin City Limits audience yearning for more. Raised in Champaign, Illinois, Krauss first picked up a violin at age five. By the time she was 12 she was beating seasoned fiddlers at their own game throughout the Midwest. Inspired by the traditions of bluegrass, Krauss released her first original bluegrass album at age 17. Her third release, I've Got That Old Feeling, became her first Grammy-winner in 1990. Krauss infuses her traditionally inspired music with a contemporary, personal flair. Critics claim she is recreating the bluegrass genre for a new generation, yet she continues to show appreciation for all forms of music. In 1994 she recorded her first gospel album with the Cox Family, the Grammy-winning I Know What Tomorrow Holds. With almost 70 albums under his belt, more than 40 award-winning songs, more Country Music Association award nominations than any other male performer and a career spanning nearly four decades, Merle Haggard is one of music's most enduring performers. He said his Austin City Limits appearances through the document his career better than anything else. "As I look back on the different appearances I've done on Austin City Limits, it's probably the most truthful [recording] about that particular period of my life," Haggard said. "It's like a photo album, I guess. This is the Austin City Limits photo album." With his band The Strangers, Haggard's Austin City Limits performance featured a powerful collection of songs full of the honesty and humility that's made him one of America's most beloved performers. Haggard performed the title track from his latest album, No Time To Cry, the infamous anthem "Okie From Muskogee," "Silver Wings" and many more. To an enthusiastic and adoring Austin City Limits audience and to music lovers around the world, Haggard represents the heart and soul of country music. His timeless music, weather-beaten face and expressive eyes have become synonymous with great country music. Austin City Limits captures the gritty but gentle essence of this influential performer, whose music has inspired a generation of musicians and fans.
Merle Haggard

Merle Haggard

  • Sin City Blues
  • No Time To Cry
  • Tearin' the Labor Camps Down
  • Farmer's Daughter
  • Today I Started Loving You Again
  • Silver Wings
  • Okie From Muskogee
Recorded: 11/30/1999
Allison Krauss

Allison Krauss

  • Everytime You Say Goodbye
  • Remember Me Love In Your Prayer
  • Little Liza Jane
  • Baby, Now That I've Found You
  • Ghost In This House
  • The Palm Of Your Hand
  • Oh Atlanta
  • I Will
Recorded: 11/30/1999

TV Schedule | Interviews | Backstage | E-Newsletters | About | Pressroom