Updated: 30-Aug-2001 NATO Publications

Chapter 14: Key to Organisations and Agencies and Other Subordinate Bodies
Airborne Early Warning
  NATO Airborne Early Warning and Control Programme Management Organisation (NAPMO)

NAPMO is responsible for all aspects of the management and implementation of the NATO AEW&C Programme and reports directly to the North Atlantic Council. The Organisation consists of a Board of Directors (BOD), supported by a Programme Management Agency (NAPMA) which is located at Brunssum, in the Netherlands, and by a Legal, Contracts and Finance (LCF) Committee; an Operations, Technical and Support (OTS) Committee; and a Depot Level Maintenance (DLM) Steering Group.

Each participating nation is represented on the Board of Directors and its committees. Representatives of the NATO Secretary General, the NATO Strategic Commanders, the NATO AEW Force Commander and other NATO bodies also attend meetings of the Board of Directors and Committee meetings. The Board of Directors normally meets twice a year.

The day-to-day management of the Programme is the responsibility of the NAPMA General Manager. The NATO AEW Force Command Headquarters is co-located with Supreme Headquarters Allied Powers Europe (SHAPE) at Mons, Belgium. Both NAPMA and the Force Command are manned by personnel from the participating nations.

The Main Operating Base is at Geilenkirchen in Germany and is also manned by personnel from the participating NAPMO nations. Airbases in Norway, Italy, Greece and Turkey have been extensively modified to provide forward operating support for NATO E-3A aircraft operations.

The NAPMO's current member nations are Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Turkey and the United States. The Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland are observers. The United Kingdom provides seven E-3D aircraft to the NATO AEW Force. France attends NAPMO meetings in an observer role, based on its acquisition of four national E-3F aircraft.

From August 1990 to March 1991, in response to Iraq's invasion of Kuwait, aircraft of the NATO E-3A Component were deployed to eastern Turkey to reinforce NATO's southern flank in order to monitor air and sea traffic in the eastern Mediterranean and to provide continuous airborne surveillance along the Turkey/Iraq border.

Since July 1992 the NAEW Force, comprising both the E-3A Component and the UK E-3D Component, has been extensively deployed in the area of the former Republic of Yugoslavia to support NATO's actions relating to the monitoring and implementation of United Nations Security Council resolutions, and subsequently to support the Implementation Force (IFOR) and Stabilisation Force (SFOR) and Kosovo Force (KFOR) operations. Aircraft of the French E-3F force have also taken part in these operations.

Further information:

NATO Airborne Early Warning and Control Programme
Management Agency (NAPMA)
Akerstraat 7
6445 CL Brunssum
The Netherlands
Tel: 31 45 526 + Ext.
Fax: 31 45 525 4373

Next Previous