The George C. Marshall Institute is pleased to announce the appointment of Matthew B. Crawford to the position of Executive Director beginning September 4, 2001.  Dr. Crawford earned his Ph.D. in political science at the University of Chicago and his Bachelor of Science degree in physics at the University of California at Santa Barbara.  He has done research on ocean surface temperature at the Scripps Institute of Oceanography as well as emission control research and has won numerous academic fellowships, including the Bradley Fellowship, The H.B. Earhart Fellowship, and the University of Chicago Century Fellowship; he was the John M. Olin Postdoctoral Fellow in the Committee on Social Thought.  In addition to his academic career, Dr. Crawford brings experience in business, contract and program management.

Dr. Crawford is well acquainted with the mission and programs of the Marshall Institute and his background in both public policy and physical science makes him uniquely qualified to guide and expand them.

After chairing the Executive Director Search Committee and acting as Managing Director, William O’Keefe has accepted the position of President of the Institute.  He will provide general oversight for the Institute’s activities on behalf of the Board of Directors and counsel to the Executive Director on program and policy matters.  Former President Dr. Robert Jastrow has become Chairman of the Board and Dr. Frederick Seitz, Chairman Emeritus.