This Year's Nominees

Below are the nominees for the 14th Annual Chicago Film Critics Awards. Note that because of voting ties, some categories have more than five nominees.

Best Picture
"A Beautiful Mind"
"In the Bedroom"
"The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"
"Mulholland Dr."
"Waking Life"

Best Foreign Language Film
"Amores Perros"
"In the Mood for Love"
"No Man's Land"
"The Road Home"
"Werckmeister Harmonies"

Best Documentary
"The Endurance: Shackleton's Legendary Antarctic Expedition"
"The Gleaners and I"
"Go Tigers"
"Porn Star"

Best Director
Robert Altman for "Gosford Park"
Ron Howard for "A Beautiful Mind"
Peter Jackson for "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"
Baz Luhrmann for "Moulin Rouge!"
David Lynch for "Mulholland Dr."

Best Screenplay
Daniel Clowes & Terry Zwigoff for "Ghost World"
Julian Fellowes for "Gosford Park"
Akiva Goldsman for "A Beautiful Mind"
Christopher Nolan for "Memento"
Wes Anderson & Owen Wilson for "The Royal Tenenbaums"

Best Original Score
Angelo Badalamenti, David Lynch, John Neff for "Mulholland Dr."
Mike Galasso and Shigaru Umebayashi for "In the Mood for Love"
James Horner for "A Beautiful Mind"
Howard Shore for "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"
John Williams for "A.I.: Artificial Intelligence"

Best Cinematography
Roger Deakins for "The Man Who Wasn't There"
Peter Deming for "Mulholland Dr."
Christopher Doyle & Mark Lee Ping-bin for "In the Mood for Love"
Andrew Lesnie for "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"
Janusz Kaminski for "A.I.: Artificial Intelligence"
Donald McAlpine for "Moulin Rouge!"

Best Actor
Russell Crowe for "A Beautiful Mind"
Gene Hackman for "The Royal Tenenbaums"
John Cameron Mitchell for "Hedwig and the Angry Itch"
Guy Pearce for "Memento"
Denzel Washington for "Training Day"
Tom Wilkinson for "In the Bedroom"

Best Actress
Halle Berry for "Monster's Ball"
Thora Birch for "Ghost World"
Sissy Spacek for "In the Bedroom"
Tilda Swinton for "The Deep End"
Naomi Watts for "Mulholland Dr."

Best Supporting Actor
Steve Buscemi for "Ghost World"
Ben Kingsley for "Sexy Beast"
Jude Law for "A.I.: Artificial Intelligence"
Tony Shalhoub for "The Man Who Wasn't There"
Jon Voigt for "Ali"

Best Supporting Actress
Jennifer Connelly for "A Beautiful Mind"
Cameron Diaz for "Vanilla Sky"
Helen Mirren for "Gosford Park"
Maggie Smith for "Gosford Park"
Marisa Tomei for "In the Bedroom"

Most Promising Performer
Eric Bana
Paul Bettany
Hayden Christensen
Dakota Fanning
John Cameron Mitchell
Audrey Tautou

Most Promising Director
Todd Field
Jonathan Glazer
Alejandro Gonz�lez I��rritu
Richard Kelly
Christopher Nolan

The winners were announced at a press conference at 4:30 p.m. on Feb. 25, 2002 at the Goodman Theatre, Chicago.
CFCA logo
  • CFCA Home Page
  • 2002 Awards
    Past Award Shows
    The Critics
    Other Information
    Contact Us

    Chicago Film Critics Association
    3712 North Broadway
    PMB 463
    Chicago, Illinois 60613-4198

    Phone: (773) 509-8155
    Fax: (312) 266-1287

    Home page:

    Email us at:


    Website design and development by Terri Zantello. Please e-mail me with problems or suggestions.

    This site and all its contents, including photographs, copyright � 1996 - 2002 Chicago Film Critics Association. All Rights Reserved.