The Official Website of Britney Spears

Sat 08 03
  Vote Not a Girl on TRL

The Album
<i>Britney</i> album cover

Though she claims to be "not yet a woman," Britney's musical style has certainly matured since her 1999 debut "Baby One More Time..." Her upcoming Jive Records release, Britney, shows that as her reign as teen popstar comes to a close, Britney's music has become more daring and grown-up than ever before.

"I wanted to make [Britney] nastier and funkier" she told MTV in October. Mission accomplished. Not only is she not afraid to curse on this album, Britney also explores new musical styles, including funk, soul, and rock. Not to mention songwriting — five of the songs are co-written by Britney herself.

Britney also collaborates with such big names as pop producers Wade Robson and Max Martin, and gets a hand in songwriting from fellow singers Dido and Justin Timberlake.

Highlights include the rocking "Overprotected." Not since Janet Jackson's "Control" has there been such a danceable declaration of independence from a rising pop star. Be sure to pop the CD into a computer to access the special video feature that previews her upcoming role in the film "Crossroads."

"Lonely" reveals Brit's exploratory side with a funky, syncopated rhythm. The smooth funk and raspy vocals of "Boys," is reminiscent of seventies soul with a little Prince thrown in.

Britney's cover of Joan Jett's "I Love Rock 'n' Roll" doesn't disappoint, with Brit's sassy voice against such tough-girl guitar riffs. "Bombastic Love" lives up to its title with explosive vocals and a cool electric violin intro.

In "Cinderella" she's singing to the boy who took her for granted, drawing from the same kind of relationship conflict we saw in last year's "Stronger." This song, along with others like the girl-power anthem "Anticipating" proves that Britney is, now more than ever, a force to be reckoned with.

But don't just take our word for it—check it out yourself—Britney is now in music stores everywhere.

- staff writer K-Luv
Track Listing
1. I'm A Slave 4 U
2. Overprotected
3. Lonely
4. I'm Not A Girl, Not Yet A Woman
5. Boys
6. Anticipating
7. I Love Rock 'n' Roll
8. Cinderella
9. Let Me Be
10. Bombastic Love
11. That's Where You Take Me
12. What It's Like To Be Me

Privacy Policy

© 2002 Britney Online, Inc. All Rights Reserved. No portion of may be reproduced without the express written permission of Britney Online, Inc. and is part of Signatures Network. is produced by NVU Productions.