Bastyr University Home PageClick here to bypass the site navigation and get to the body of the site
- Future Students -- General Public -- Alumni -
- Conference Services -- Media -- Continuing Education -
Thursday, December 26, 2002
 

Refine your search
Order Books Online
Home
General Information
Services
Circulation Policies
Staff Directory
Resources
Contact Us

Resources

Printer Friendly HTML | PDF Format | MS Word Format

ACUPUNCTURE and ORIENTAL MEDICINE (AOM) RESOURCES
in the Bastyr University Library and on the Internet

October 2002

BASTYR UNIVERSITY LIBRARY CATALOG
www.library.bastyr.edu

Pertinent Library of Congress call numbers:

The Library uses the Library of Congress cataloging system, in which letters combined with numbers stand for major subject divisions. AOM materials, identified by a bright yin/yang symbol above the call number, can be found throughout the collection, but mainly in the following areas:

R 601 to R 603History of medicine by region, China
RM 184Acupuncture
RM 666.C4Drugs and their actions, Chinese herbs
RM 723.C5Massage, Chinese
RS 180.C4Pharmacognosy, natural sources – China

Note: Many materials containing AOM therapeutics are shelved with specific diseases or specialties. For example, works on Chinese medicine pertaining to the specialty of pediatrics have call numbers beginning with RJ; those pertaining to gynecology and obstetrics have call numbers that begin with RG.

The Reference section, to the right of the stairway, is separate from the main collection.  Don’t forget to check here for reference works with the call number ranges specified above.

Major Library of Congress subject headings:

AcupressureHerbs – Therapeutic use – China
Medicinal plants – ChinaHerbs – Therapeutic use – Japan>
AcupunctureMedicine – China
Acupuncture TherapyMedicine, Chinese
Qi (see also Ch’i)Medicine, Chinese traditional
Qi gong(see also Ch’i kung)Moxa (rather thanmoxibustion)
JOURNALS IN THE BASTYR LIBRARY

AOM journals are identified by a bright yin/yang symbol on the cover, but don’t forget that articles on all aspects of Chinese medicine also frequently appear in other alternative medicine journals in the library collection.  Some major AOM journal titles are:

Acupuncture in MedicineInternational Journal of Oriental Medicine
American Journal of Acupuncture (no longer publishing—back issues only)Journal of Chinese Medicine
Journal of Traditional Chinese Medicine
American Journal of Chinese MedicineNorth American Journal of Oriental Medicine
Chinese Journal of Integrated Traditional & Western MedicineOriental Medicine Journal
Qi
Clinical Acupuncture and Oriental MedicineTCM Shanghai Journal of Acupuncture & Moxibustion
International Journal of Clinical Acupuncture
GENERAL REFERENCE WORKS
  • Atlas of Chinese Tongue Diagnosis, Kirschbaum, Barbara, 2000. RC 73.3 .K57 2000.

  • Between Heaven and Earth: A Guide to Chinese Medicine, Beinfield, Harriet and Efrem Korngold, 1991. R 601 .B4 1991

  • Chinese Acupuncture,  Soule de Morant, George, 1994.  RM 184 .S6 1994 (Reference Section)

  • Chinese Acupuncture and Moxibustion, Chiu, Mao-liang and Liang-y Li, 1993. RM 184 .C6 1993

  • Chinese Pulse Diagnosis: A Contemporary Approach, Leon I. Hammer, Seattle: Eastland Press, 2001. R 602 .H32 2001

  • The Foundations of Chinese Medicine: A Comprehensive Text for Acupuncturists and Herbalists, Maciocia, Giovanni, R 601 .M26 1989

  • A Manual of Acupuncture, Deadman, Peter and Kevin Baker, 1998. RM 184 .D22 1998 (Reference Section)

  • Obstetrics and Gynecology in Chinese Medicine, Maciocia, Giovanni, 1998. RG 103 .M22 1998

  • Pharmacopoeia of the People’s Republic of China, vol. 1: Herbal Medicine, 2000. RS 141.64 P4 2000 (Reference Section)

  • Practice of Chinese Medicine, Maciocia, Giovanni, 1994. R 601 .M28 1994

  • The START Group Series (Institute of Traditional Medicine) is a collection of brochures that cover all aspects of Chinese medicine.  The brochures are filed in four black notebooks in the Reference section.  (Also available online at www.itmonline.org)

  • The Web That Has No Weaver, Kaptchuk, Ted, 1983. R 601 .K36 1983.

CHINESE HERBAL REFERENCE WORKS
  • Bastyr University Natural Health Center Chinese Materia Medica:  Herb Samples Book, RS 180 .4 46 1998 (Reference Section)

  • Chinese Herbal Medicine : Formulas & Strategies, compiled and translated by Dan Bensky and Randall Barolet, RM 666 .C4 C53 1990

  • Chinese Herbal Medicine : Materia Medica, compiled and translated by Dan Bensky and Andrew Gamble, with Ted Kaptchuk, RM 666 .C4 C54 1993

  • A Coloured Atlas of the Chinese Materia Medica Specified in Pharmcopoeia of the People's Republic of China (1995 edition), RS 180 .C4 C65 1996

  • Encyclopedia of Chinese and U.S. Patent Herbal Medicine, Chongyun Liu, Yong Deng, with Andrew McIntyre, RM 666 .C4 L58 1999

  • Pharmacology and Applications of Chinese Materia Medica, edited by Hson-Mou Chang and Paul Pui-Hay But,   RS 180 .C4 P53 1987

  • Traditional Chinese Medicines: Molecular Structures, Natural Sources, and Applications, compiled by X. Yan, J. Zhou, and G. Xie; edited by G.W.A. Milne, RS 431 .M37 Y36 1999

DRUG-HERB INTERACTION/CONTRAINDICATION RESOURCES

American Herbal Products Association's Botanical Safety Handbook, 1997. RM 666 .H33 A4 1997 (Reference Section)

Chan, K. and L. Cheung.  Interactions Between Chinese Herbal Medicinal Products and Orthodox Drugs.  The Netherlands:  Harwood Academic Publishers, 2000.  (Reference Section)

USEFUL CD-ROM AND ONLINE DATABASES (For access information, see a library staff person.)
  • Alt-HealthWatch is a full-text online database of 150+ publications in the field of alternative health.

  • AcuBase CD-ROM covers patterns, points, formulas, herbs, and diagnosis.

  • AMED (online) indexes @500 scientific journals in the field of complementary and alternative medicine and provides research citations with abstracts (occasional links to online full-text).

  • Complete AcupunctureCD-ROM introduces and describes the skilled use of acupuncture and moxibustion.  Includes a video of needling techniques.

  • IBIS (Interactive BodyMind Information System) is a clinical database for alternative medicine covering diagnosis, nutrition, botanicals, Chinese medicine (both herbal and acupuncture), homeopathic remedies and psychospiritual approaches.

  • Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database (online) contains monographs on some Chinese herbs.

  • Natural Standard(online) contains monographs on some Chinese herbs.

  • Practice of Chinese Medicine: The Treatment of Disease with Acupuncture and Chinese Herbs CD-ROM (Giovanni Maciocia, ed.) is an electronic version of the book by the same title.

  • Qpuncture: A useful tool for learning the basics about acupuncture. While offering a variety of options, the strength of the program lies in displaying moveable 3-D views of the meridians projected onto human models.

  • Traditional Chinese Medicine and Pharmacology CD-ROM provides a comprehensive look at traditional Chinese medicine, including basic principles, clinical experiences, herbal formulas, medicinal herb groups and materia medica

MEDLINE

MEDLINE is a comprehensive biomedical database from the National Library of Medicine at the NIH, providing citations with abstracts (NOT full-text) to research articles.  Guides for using PubMed to access MEDLINE are available from the Bastyr Library and online. (Click Tutorial on the left sidebar of the PubMed search screen.)

  • In November 2001, MEDLINE adopted pinyin to romanize Chinese characters, replacing the outdated Wade-Giles system. For example, the pinyinQi(the traditional Asian concept of the life force that travels along channels of the body, called meridians) now replaces the Wade-Giles form, Ch’i. Wade-Giles transliterations are associated with the correct pinyin forms in MEDLINE and will still be searched as keywords.

  • Performing and locating research studies in Chinese herbal medicine is complex. Some major reasons for this are: 1) different spellings of the English names of herbs abound; 2) certain age-old herbs have many different botanical variations, depending on where the plants are gathered; 3) many herbs are used in combinations, or patent formulations, which set up synergistic effects that are difficult to assign to one plant or another. Standardization and GMP (Good Manufacturing Practice) are also issues. Research interest in Chinese herbs is picking up but, to date, there are very few well-designed research studies of these substances. Some Chinese herbs are MeSH subject headings in MEDLINE, but most are not. Preliminary research to gather botanical name variations, including the common name and the Latin binomial name, and also identifying chemical constituents that have been suggested as producing a therapeutic effect, is especially important.

  • The following MeSH subject headings and keywords are pertinent to traditional Chinese medicine. Experiment with combining selected ones with the connector OR.

MeSH Headings

Medicine, Chinese Traditional

(includes the MeSH headings Qi and Yin-Yang)

Acupuncture

(refers to the health profession only)

Acupuncture Therapy

(includes Acupressure, Moxibustion and other MeSH headings related to theory and practice)

Drugs, Chinese Herbal

Individual names of Chinese herbs that are MeSH headings, e.g. Astragalus

Pulse

(use in conjunction with other MeSH headings, such as Medicine, Chinese Traditional or Acupuncture Therapy)

Tai Ji

Selected Keywords

Individual names of Chinese herbs (not MeSH)

channel or channels

(use in conjunction with other MeSH headings, such as Medicine, Chinese Traditional or Acupuncture Therapy)

ch'i

(still useful as a keyword even though Qi is the new MeSH heading)

qi gong, and the alternate spelling qigong*

Possible spelling variations of this term:
(qi or chi or ki) with (kong or gung or kung or gong)

tao (or dao)

tongue diagnosis

(use in conjunction with the MeSH heading Medicine, Chinese Traditional)

tuina or tui na

*Both qi gong and qigong are associated with the MeSH term Breathing Exercises. Including them will produce many irrelevant citations.

CHINESE LANGUAGE BOOK COLLECTION

This collection, located in the Reference Section, was donated by Mr. Cui Yue Li, former minister of the Ministry of Public Health of China.  The books are part of the Chinese Medicine Classics Series and are written in modern simplified Chinese.  They include many of the original classics of TCM and are currently restricted to library use only.

VIDEOS

China Zhenjiuology (acupuncture), in English but produced in China (15 individual video tapes)
Jung Tao School of Classical Chinese Medicine video lecture series I, II, III, IV and V.
Moyers, Bill. Healing and the Mind video series, Vol. 1: The mystery of chi.

INTERNET SITES:

acupuncture.com
A comprehensive site with three major categories: TCM Therapies, TCM in the 21st Century, and Resources. This site also has a built-in search engine. Useful categories include state laws, In the News, and Book and Software Reviews. Links for students, practitioners, and patients.

Acupuncture Bibliography
Compiled by the National Library of Medicine, this resource contains over 2,000 citations (without abstracts) on acupuncture from 1970 to 1998.  Search tip:  Use the Find command in your Internet browser to locate citations on a particular subject.

Acupuncture Center
Contains links to Midwest College of Oriental Medicine and its affiliate Guangzhou University of Traditional Chinese Medicine. The Midwest College is one of the oldest acupuncture schools in America.

Acupuncture Laws by State
www.acupuncture.com/StateLaws/StateLaws.htm

Chinese Medical Psychiatry
This website is meant as a companion to Bob Flaws & James Lake’s book, Chinese Medical Psychiatry.  It is intended for students and practitioners of Chinese medicine as well as practitioners of other health care systems to further their research in this area.

CraneHerb Company
Contains a symptoms database which includes Western, Chinese, tongue and pulse symptoms, and contraindications that allows you to find the correct herbal treatment for a set of symptoms. It also contains product search database to look up Chinese herbs and Chinese herbal formulas; an herbal comparison tool to compare herbal formulas, ingredients, and treated symptoms for two herbal formulas.

Institute of Traditional Medicine
A good source for articles on numerous topics including disorders, herbs, TCM, and Tibetan medicine. This site also has an index to the START Group, a collection of brochures on all aspects of Chinese medicine. They are located in reference.

National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine
The National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) is a non-profit organization established in 1982. Its mission is to promote nationally recognized standards of competency and safety in acupuncture, Chinese herbology and Oriental bodywork therapy for the purpose of protecting the public. Comprehensive information about the certification process.

Qi Gong Subject Index
Three levels of information: consumer, student, and practitioner. Student links include the Twenty-four Rules for Qi Gong Practice, Primary Meridians and the Appropriate Qi Gong Practice, and the Eight Extraordinary Meridians. This site also has an informative history of Qi Gong.

TCM Herb Library: Introduction, Theory, Materia Medica
(Free registration required for access; user name and password are emailed to you usually within minutes.)

Rocky Mountain Herbal Institute has a free 220 Herb Library of the Chinese Materia Medica on their site. You can look items up by the Mandarin name, pharmaceutical name and primary function. Aimed at TCM practitioners and students. 

TCM Relational Knowledge Base
(Access with paid subscription only.  The book this database is based on is in the Library’s Reference Section, RS 431 .M37 Y36 1999).

Provides data on 6,800 chemicals that are known to be present in 1,548 medicinally useful plants and that are thought to be responsible for the medicinal effect of the plant or its extracts. Includes the chemistry of the major active components of each plant, compiled at the Chinese Academy of Sciences in Beijing.

Back To Top

Home | Site Map | Search | Contact Us | Jobs | Privacy Policy | Printer Friendly
Bastyr University. Copyright © 2002. All Rights Reserved.