Trustees and Officers

H. Brandt Ayers
Chairman, Consolidated Publishing Co.; Publisher, The Anniston Star, Anniston, Alabama

Peter A. A. Berle
Lawyer; Broadcaster on Public Radio; former President, National Audubon Society; former New  York State Commissioner of Environmental Conservation; former member of the New York State Legislature

Alan Brinkley
Professor, Department of History, Columbia University

Joseph A. Califano, Jr.
Chairman and President, The National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse at Columbia University; former Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare

Alexander Morgan Capron
University Professor of Law and Medicine, University of Southern California

Hodding Carter III
President and CEO, John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, Miami, Florida

Edward E. David, Jr.
President, EED, Inc., Bedminster, New Jersey; Principal, Vice President, and Treasurer, the Washington Advisory Group; former President, Exxon Research and Engineering Company; former Science Adviser to President Nixon; former Executive Director, Bell Telephone Labs

Brewster C. Denny
Professor and Dean Emeritus, Graduate School of Public Affairs, University of Washington; Chairman, Twentieth Century Fund, 1986–94

Charles V. Hamilton
Wallace S. Sayre Professor Emeritus of Government, Department of Political Science, Columbia University

Matina S. Horner
Executive Vice President, TIAA-CREF; President Emerita, Radcliffe College

Lewis B. Kaden
Partner, Davis Polk & Wardwell

James A. Leach
Representative, First Congressional District, Iowa

Richard C. Leone
President, The Century Foundation; former Chairman, the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey

Jessica Tuchman Mathews
President, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace; former journalist, scientist, National Security Council staff

Alicia H. Munnell
Peter F. Drucker Chair in Management Sciences, Carroll School of Management, and Director of the Center for Retirement Research, Boston College; former member, President’s Council of Economic Advisers; former Assistant Secretary of the Treasury for Economic Policy

P. Michael Pitfield
Senator, Ottawa-Vanier, Ontario, Canada; Vice Chairman, Power Corporation of Canada

Richard Ravitch
Chairman, Aquarius Management Corporation; Ravitch, Rice & Company, LLC; Chairman, AFL/CIO Housing Investment Trust and the Corporation for Supportive Housing

Alan Sagner
Principal, Alan Sagner Companies; Director, 42nd Street Development Corporation; former Chairman, Corporation for Public Broadcasting; former Chairman, the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey 

Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr.
Historian; Writer; Albert Schweitzer Professor Emeritus in the Humanities, City University of New York; former Special Assistant to President Kennedy

Harvey I. Sloane, M.D.
Directs numerous domestic and international projects (Russia) for Project HOPE and Eurasian Medical Education Program; former County Judge/Executive, Jefferson County, Kentucky; former Commissioner of Public Health of the District of Columbia; former Mayor, Louisville, Kentucky; former Director, Community Health Center, Louisville, Kentucky

Theodore C. Sorensen
Senior Counsel, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison; 
former Special Counsel to President Kennedy

Kathleen M. Sullivan
Dean and Richard E. Lang Professor of Law and Stanley Morrison Professor of Law, Stanford University

James Tobin
Sterling Professor Emeritus of Economics, Cowles Foundation for Research in Economics, Yale University

David B. Truman
Former Professor of Government, Vice President, and Provost, Columbia University; former President, Mount Holyoke College; former President, Russell Sage Foundation

Shirley Williams
Public Service Professor Emeritus of Electoral Politics, John Fitzgerald Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University; Deputy leader and spokesperson on foreign affairs for the Liberal Democrats in the House of Lords (UK); cofounder and former president, Social Democratic Party (UK); former member of the British Cabinet

William Julius Wilson
Lewis P. and Linda L. Geyser University Professor, Harvard University; 1998 recipient of the National Medal of Science



Alan Brinkley

Vice Chairman
James A. Leach

Richard Ravitch

Peter A. A. Berle

Matina S. Horner

Richard C. Leone