European Free Trade Association

Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland are members of EFTA. The EFTA Convention established a free trade area among its Member States in 1960. In addition, the EFTA States have jointly concluded free trade agreements with a number of countries worldwide.

Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway entered into the Agreement on the European Economic Area (EEA) in 1992, which entered into force in 1994. The current contracting parties are, in addition to the three EFTA states, the European Community and the 15 EC Member States.


EFTA is served by three institutions: the EFTA Secretariat, the EFTA Surveillance Authority and the EFTA Court.

EFTA Secretariat, EFTA Surveillance Authority, EFTA Court; Geneva - Brussels - Luxembourg, 2002. Disclaimer
EFTA Secretariat EFTA Surveillance Authority EFTA Court