United States Postal Service Corporate Signature go to Main Content area Home

Celebrating African American History On Stamps

The Black Heritage series: you've seen the stamps, now check out the video
Black Heritage Stamp Series
    Play Video at 56k Speed 
    Play Video at 150k Speed 
Download Windows Media Player here.
To view this streamed video, you will need the latest version of Windows Media Player.

Discontinuing the series?
Destroying the stamps? No way!

Just more of those untrue Internet rumors.

A recent Internet rumor saying the Postal Service is discontinuing the Black Heritage series is another one of those untrue yarns that the Internet is sometimes famous for, as is the rumor that the Postal Service is destroying current Black Heritage series stamps.

The fact is that the Black Heritage stamp series is one of our most popular. We have no plans whatsoever to discontinue it. The Postal Service remains as strongly committed to honoring the historical achievements and contributions of African Americans on stamps as we've always been. And we are proud to offer the latest stamp in the series honoring the great civil rights advocate and Supreme Court Justice, Thurgood Marshall.

Thurgood Marshall commemorative stamp On Jan. 8, the U.S. Postal Service issued the latest stamp in the ever popular Black Heritage Commemorative Stamp series. The Thurgood Marshall commemorative stamp, marks the 26th year – and the 26th stamp – of the Black Heritage series, which salutes outstanding African-American activists, theorists, educators and leaders.

To celebrate this milestone, the Postal Service has updated its Black Heritage video featuring Ruby Dee and Ossie Davis. It is a significant educational component of the series, which pays tribute to 26 African-American people who played an important role in America's history.

These honorees were chosen because they have impacted history through social movements, inventions, literature, art and science, music, medicine and sports.

Notable Americans featured on stamps in the Black Heritage series include: Harriet Tubman, Martin Luther King, Jr., Benjamin Banneker, Whitney Moore Young, Jackie Robinson, Scott Joplin, Dr. Carter G. Woodson, Mary McLeod Bethune, Sojourner Truth, Jean Baptiste Point Du Sable, James Weldon Johnson, A. Philip Randolph, Ida B. Wells, Jan E. Matzeliger, W.E.B. DuBois, Percy Lavon Julian, Dr. Allison Davis, Bessie Coleman, Ernest E. Just, Benjamin O. Davis, Sr., Madam C.J. Walker, Malcolm X (El-Hajj Malik El-Shabazz), Patricia Roberts Harris, Roy Wilkins, Langston Hughes and Thurgood Marshall.

Preserving the Trust