About MHM

Our Products


Media Skills & Support

MHM Awards
- 2002 Winners
- 2002 Sponsors
- 2002 Judges
- 2002 Speech
- Previous Winners
- Nomination Form
- Entry Form

Mental Health Media Awards 2002

The Mental Health Media Awards

17th October 2002, BAFTA

The Mental Health Media Awards are held every October at the British Academy of Film and Television Arts.

Our Awards recognise that powerful programmes and portrayals have an impact which last long after their original broadcast. They can generate discussion, shatter misconceptions, illuminate thinking and inspire real change.

Winners of Mental Health Media Awards are those which dare to challenge misinformation and stereotypes; they are those which include the voice and experience of people with mental health problems. They are also those which present mental distress as a fundamentally human and commonplace experience and not one to be feared, derided and stigmatised.

This year, 2002, is the ninth year of the Mental Health Media Awards.

  • Nominations
  • If you have heard or seen a programme about mental health or distress which has impressed you and was broadcast since 1 July 2002, please nominate it by 13 June 2003.

  • Shortlisting
  • Each year, a number of people who have had personal experiences of mental distress are involved in drawing up the shortlist of programmes. If you would like to join the shortlisting team, please contact us for further information.

  • Entries
  • If you have made a programme about mental health, which will be broadcast between 1st July 2002 and 30th June 2003, please contact us.

  • Sponsorship
  • Every year, the Awards are supported by like-minded organisations. If you would like your organisation to be involved in the Awards, please ask for our sponsor information pack.

2002 Categories and Winners

2002 Sponsors

2002 Judges

Previous Winners

Nomination Form

Entry Form