the webby awards

April 25, 2004
about the webby awards the people's voice business awards enter your site press sponsors

nominees + winners
winners
archived nominees
webby judging
the awards event
webby history
staff

search



Webby Awards Sponsors




2002 Winners

the best of the web
and the winners are...

The Best Sites of



activism

webby award winner

tolerance.org
www.tolerance.org

people's voice winner

PETA.org
www.peta.org
  nominees
  AlterNet   http://www.alternet.org  
  CorpWatch.org   http://www.corpwatch.org  
  Idealist.org   http://www.idealist.org  
  PETA.org   http://www.peta.org  
  tolerance.org   http://www.tolerance.org  

back to top

best practices

webby award winner

Google
www.google.com

people's voice winner

Google
www.google.com
  nominees
  Amazon.com   http://www.amazon.com  
  Google   http://www.google.com  
  National Geographic   http://www.nationalgeographic.com  
  Peace Corps   http://www.peacecorps.gov  
  US Army Basic Training   http://www.goarmy.com/basic  

back to top

broadband

webby award winner

GUGGENHEIM.COM
www.guggenheim.com

people's voice winner

KaZaA
www.kazaa.com
  nominees
  120Seconds.com   http://www.120seconds.com  
  bThere   http://www.bthere.tv  
  GUGGENHEIM.COM   http://www.guggenheim.com  
  KaZaA   http://www.kazaa.com  
  Oddcast   http://www.oddcast.com  

back to top

commerce

webby award winner

Amazon.com
www.amazon.com

people's voice winner

Amazon.com
www.amazon.com
  nominees
  Amazon.com   http://www.amazon.com  
  BabyCenter   http://www.babycenter.com  
  Cooking.com   http://www.cooking.com  
  Travelocity.com   http://www.travelocity.com  
  Williams-Sonoma   http://www.williams-sonoma.com  

back to top

community

webby award winner

Idealist.org
www.idealist.org

people's voice winner

Idealist.org
www.idealist.org
  nominees
  BeliefNet   http://www.beliefnet.com  
  Burning Man   http://www.burningman.com  
  Idealist.org   http://www.idealist.org  
  Nerve.com   http://www.nerve.com  
  The Warren Ellis Forum   http://forums.delphiforums.com/ellis  

back to top

education

webby award winner

Exploratorium
www.exploratorium.edu

people's voice winner

eNature
www.enature.com
  nominees
  eNature   http://www.enature.com  
  Exploratorium   http://www.exploratorium.edu  
  JASON   http://www.jasonproject.org  
  MarcoPolo   http://marcopolo.worldcom.com  
  Students Against Testing   http://www.nomoretests.com  

back to top

fashion

webby award winner

ZOOZOOM.com Magazine
www.zoozoom.com

people's voice winner

STYLE.com
www.style.com
  nominees
  Hint Fashion Magazine   http://www.hintmag.com  
  Lumière Magazine   http://www.lumiere.com  
  SoWear   http://www.sowear.com  
  STYLE.com   http://www.style.com  
  ZOOZOOM.com Magazine   http://www.zoozoom.com  

back to top

film

webby award winner

Donnie Darko
www.donniedarko.com

people's voice winner

IFILM
www.ifilm.com
  nominees
  Donnie Darko   http://www.donniedarko.com  
  IFILM   http://www.ifilm.com  
  Metacritic   http://www.metacritic.com  
  Waking Life   http://www.wakinglifemovie.com  
  Without a Box   http://www.withoutabox.com  

back to top

finance

webby award winner

Yahoo! Finance
finance.yahoo.com

people's voice winner

Yahoo! Finance
finance.yahoo.com
  nominees
  10K Wizard   http://www.10kwizard.com  
  Financial Engines   http://www.financialengines.com  
  [marketocracy]   http://www.marketocracy.com  
  Yahoo! Finance   http://finance.yahoo.com  
  Yodlee   http://www.yodlee.com  

back to top

games

webby award winner

Netbaby
www.netbabyworld.com

people's voice winner

Swirve
games.swirve.com
  nominees
  Banja   http://www.banja.com  
  EA.com   http://www.ea.com  
  Gamasutra   http://www.gamasutra.com  
  Netbaby   http://www.netbabyworld.com  
  PopCap Games   http://www.popcap.com  

back to top

govt

webby award winner

Library of Congress
lcweb.loc.gov

people's voice winner

NASA
www.nasa.gov
  nominees
  Copyright Website   http://www.copyrightwebsite.com  
  Council on Foreign Relations   http://www.cfr.org  
  Library of Congress   http://lcweb.loc.gov  
  NASA   http://www.nasa.gov  
  U.S. Geological Survey   http://www.usgs.gov  

back to top

health

webby award winner

teenwire.com
www.teenwire.com

people's voice winner

Breast Cancer Action
www.bcaction.org
  nominees
  Breast Cancer Action   http://www.bcaction.org  
  drSpock.com   http://www.drspock.com  
  lifeclinic.com   http://www.lifeclinic.com  
  Planned Parenthood Golden Gate   http://www.ppgg.org  
  teenwire.com   http://www.teenwire.com  

back to top

humor

webby award winner

The Onion
www.theonion.com

people's voice winner

The Onion
www.theonion.com
  nominees
  F***edcompany.com   http://www.f---edcompany.com  
  Heartless Bitches International   http://www.heartless-bitches.com  
  Legodeath - A Museum of Horrors   http://www.legodeath.com  
  The Onion   http://www.theonion.com  
  SatireWire   http://www.satirewire.com  

back to top

kids

webby award winner

OLogy
www.ology.amnh.org

people's voice winner

ChannelOne
www.channelone.com
  nominees
  ChannelOne   http://www.channelone.com  
  OLogy   http://www.ology.amnh.org  
  Pinhole Spy Camera   http://www.pinholespy.com  
  SFS Kids   http://www.sfskids.com  
  teenwire.com   http://www.teenwire.com  

back to top

living

webby award winner

epicurious.com
www.epicurious.com

people's voice winner

epicurious.com
www.epicurious.com
  nominees
  Do-It-Yourself Network.com   http://www.diynet.com  
  epicurious.com   http://www.epicurious.com  
  Green Home   http://www.greenhome.com  
  National Gardening   http://www.nationalgardening.com  
  Time Out New York   http://www.timeoutny.com  

back to top

music

webby award winner

LOOPLABS
www.looplabs.com

people's voice winner

Live365
www.live365.com
  nominees
  all songs considered   http://www.npr.org/programs/asc  
  Freemuse   http://www.freemuse.org  
  Hearts of Space   http://www.hos.com  
  Live365   http://www.live365.com  
  LOOPLABS   http://www.looplabs.com  

back to top

art

webby award winner

360degrees
www.360degrees.org

people's voice winner

DeviantART
www.deviantart.com
  nominees
  360degrees   http://www.360degrees.org  
  Consume   http://consume.net  
  DeskSwap   http://www.deskswap.com  
  PrayStation   http://www.praystation.com  
  They Rule   http://theyrule.net  

back to top

news

webby award winner

BBC News
www.bbc.co.uk/news

people's voice winner

Arts and Letters Daily
www.aldaily.com
  nominees
  allAfrica.com   http://www.allafrica.com  
  Arts & Letters Daily   http://www.aldaily.com  
  BBC News   http://www.bbc.co.uk/news  
  Debkafile   http://www.debka.com  
  Poynter.org   http://www.poynter.org  

back to top

personal

webby award winner

The Committee to Free Lori Berenson
www.freelori.org

people's voice winner

ze's page
www.zefrank.com
  nominees
  abnormalbehaviorchild   http://www.abnormalbehaviorchild.com  
  The Committee to Free Lori Berenson   http://www.freelori.org  
  hungry for design   http://www.hungryfordesign.com  
  Jeff Harris   http://www.jeffharris.org  
  PrayStation   http://www.praystation.com  

back to top

politics

webby award winner

Center for Responsive Politics
www.opensecrets.org

people's voice winner

washingtonpost.com
/OnPolitics
www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/politics
  nominees
  California Voter Foundation   http://www.calvoter.org  
  Center for Responsive Politics   http://www.opensecrets.org  
  The Hill   http://www.thehill.com  
  Political Money Line   http://www.fecinfo.com  
  washingtonpost.com/
OnPolitics
  http://www.washingtonpost.com/politics  

back to top

print

webby award winner

Salon.com
www.salon.com

people's voice winner

The Smoking Gun
www.thesmokinggun.com
  nominees
  Mr. Beller's Neighborhood   http://www.mrbellersneighborhood.com  
  National Geographic Magazine   http://www.nationalgeographic.com/ngm  
  ONTHERAIL   http://www.ontherail.com  
  Salon.com   http://www.salon.com  
  The Smoking Gun   http://www.thesmokinggun.com  

back to top

radio

webby award winner

BBC Radio 4 website
www.bbc.co.uk/radio4

people's voice winner

BBC Radio 4 Website
www.bbc.co.uk/radio4
  nominees
  BBC Radio 4 website   http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio4  
  kpig.com   http://www.kpig.com  
  RTÈ Interactive Radio   http://www.rte.ie/radio  
  Transom   http://www.transom.org  
  Youth Radio   http://www.youthradio.org  

back to top

science

webby award winner

Becoming Human
www.becominghuman.org

people's voice winner

NASA Earth Observatory
earthobservatory.nasa.gov
  nominees
  Becoming Human   http://www.becominghuman.org  
  eFunda   http://www.efunda.com  
  Eric Weisstein's World of Mathematics   http://mathworld.wolfram.com  
  NASA Earth Observatory   http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov  
  SciTech Daily Review   http://www.scitechdaily.com  

back to top

services

webby award winner

evite
www.evite.com

people's voice winner

evite
www.evite.com
  nominees
  Embark   http://www.embark.com  
  evite   http://www.evite.com  
  GoToMyPC   http://www.gotomypc.com  
  Ryze   http://www.ryze.com  
  TicketWeb   http://www.ticketweb.com  

back to top

spirituality

webby award winner

Beliefnet
www.beliefnet.com

people's voice winner

The Witches' Voice, Inc.
www.witchvox.com
  nominees
  Beliefnet   http://www.beliefnet.com  
  Glide Memorial Church   http://www.glide.org  
  GraceCathedral.org   http://www.GraceCathedral.org  
  Islamic Studies   http://www.uga.edu/islam  
  Vatican   http://www.vatican.va  

back to top

sports

webby award winner

ESPN.com
www.espn.com

people's voice winner

ESPN.com
www.espn.com
  nominees
  2002 FIFA World Cup   http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com  
  Backpacker.com   http://www.backpacker.com  
  ESPN.com   http://www.espn.com  
  San Francisco 49ers   http://www.49ers.com  
  Surfline   http://www.surfline.com  

back to top

tech

webby award winner

David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
www.davidrumsey.com

people's voice winner

Google
www.google.com
  nominees
  David Rumsey Historical Map Collection   http://www.davidrumsey.com  
  Google   http://www.google.com  
  Memorystick   http://www.sony.com/memorystick  
  REBOL Internet Operating System   http://www.rebol.com/ios-intro.html  
  Volantis System Ltd.   http://www.volantis.com  

back to top

travel

webby award winner

Lonely Planet Online
www.lonelyplanet.com

people's voice winner

Lonely Planet Online
www.lonelyplanet.com
  nominees
  IgoUgo   http://www.igougo.com  
  Lonely Planet Online   http://www.lonelyplanet.com  
  site59.com   http://www.site59.com  
  travel intelligence.net   http://www.travelintelligence.net  
  World Hum   http://www.worldhum.com  

back to top

tv

webby award winner

The Osbournes
www.mtv.com/onair/osbournes

people's voice winner

CSI: Crime Scene Investigation
www.cbs.com/primetime/
csi/main.shtml
  nominees
  BBCi   http://www.bbc.co.uk  
  CSI:Crime Scene Investigation   http://www.cbs.com/primetime/csi/main.shtml  
  E! Online   http://www.eonline.com  
  The Osbournes   http://www.mtv.com/onair/osbournes  
  Who Wants to be a Millionaire   http://abc.abcnews.go.com/
primetime/millionaire/millionaire_home.html
 

back to top

weird

webby award winner

Devices of Wonder
www.getty.edu/art/
exhibitions/devices

people's voice winner

All Your Base Belong To Us
www.planettribes.com/allyourbase/
  nominees
  All Your Base Are Belong To Us   http://www.planettribes.com/allyourbase  
  Cut Off My Feet (Freck's New Feet)   http://www.cutoffmyfeet.com  
  Devices of Wonder   http://www.getty.edu/art/exhibitions/devices  
  Mind Control Forum   http://www.mindcontrolforums.com  
  spamradio   http://www.spamradio.com  

back to top

In addition to the 30 categories honored at this year's Webby Awards Ceremony, the following three awards were awarded to sites using Nielsen//NetRatings Internet audience measurement data. Learn more by reading our Internet Sweeps Month FAQ.


rising star

webby award winner

Emode
www.emode.com

back to top

top us property

webby award winner

AOL
www.aol.com

back to top

top global property

webby award winner

Yahoo!
www.yahoo.com

back to top



2004 winners

activism
best practices
broadband
commerce
community
education
fashion
film
finance
games
government + law
health
humor
living
music
net art
news
personal web site
politics
print + zines
radio
science
services
spirituality
sports
technical achievement
travel
tv
weird
youth


Site Developed and Maintained by NETSPROUT, INC.