help search email rhs hompage
Gardening News
  :: membership  
you are
:: about us
:: help us
:: plants
:: advice
:: research
:: events
:: gardens
:: education
:: publications
:: libraries
:: shopping
  :: bicentenary  


Royal Horticultural Society awards top gardening gongs

Peter Seabrook, gardening writer and broadcaster, Peter Beales, one of the world’s leading rose breeders, and Andrew Dunn, owner of Frank P Matthews Ltd (fruit tree specialist), have been awarded the RHS Victoria Medal of Honour (VMH), the highest accolade in the British gardening world. The VMH is one of the RHS awards which recognise leading figures in British horticulture.

Peter Seabrook, currently best known for his weekly gardening column in The Sun, has served as spokesman and champion of the British horticulture industry for over 40 years. After training at Writtle College he became a nurseryman himself before moving into journalism and broadcasting through BBC Home Service Radio, Gardeners’ Question Time on BBC Radio 4, Pebble Mill at One on BBC1 and Gardeners’ World on BBC2. He has been gardening editor on The Sun since 1977, has written for Amateur Gardening magazine since 1986 and Nurseryman & Garden Centre magazine since 1964. He annually coordinates the popular Sun Flower Street exhibit at the RHS Chelsea Flower Show.

Peter Beales has grown and bred roses since leaving school in 1952. He founded his company Peter Beales Roses, based in Attleborough, Norfolk, in 1968 and has since then introduced over 30 new roses to cultivation. He specialises in classic shrub roses, climbers and ramblers. Peter is President Elect of the Royal National Rose Society and will become President in 2003. Peter Beales Roses exhibits annually at major RHS Flower Shows including the Hampton Court Palace Flower Show at which the British Rose Festival is staged.

Andrew Dunn started in the fruit tree business with no formal horticulture training. He inherited Frank P Matthews Ltd from his father-in-law and founder Frank Matthews. He quickly became involved with work carried out at East Malling and Long Ashton research stations, introducing the EMLA scheme, which pioneered the introduction of virus-free rootstock. He was a founder member of the NSA (Nuclear Stock Association) and with a few other select nurserymen, took the responsibility of growing and distributing trees at the highest health status under the unique PHPS certification scheme. This scheme subsequently became the blueprint for similar schemes around the world. At 86 he still works a full day on the nursery which is now managed by his son Nick Dunn. He now has particular responsibility for the company’s fruit trials.

Also awarded are nine Veitch Memorial Medals and five Associate of Honour awards. All awards will be presented at the RHS Annual General Meeting in June 2003.

Victoria Medal of Honour, made to British horticulturists whom the RHS Council consider deserving of special honour at the hands of the Society, is awarded to:
Peter Beales
Peter Seabrook
Andrew Dunn

The Associateship of Honour, given to persons who have rendered distinguished service to horticulture in the course of their employment, is awarded to:
Mr W Barry Champion
Mr David Jones
Mr Michael Pollock
Mr John Richardson
Mr Sam Youd

The Gold Veitch Memorial medal, awarded to people who have helped in the advancement and improvement of the science and practice of horticulture, is awarded to:
Professor M John Bukovac (USA)
Mr Alan Jellyman (NZ)
Dr Barrie Machin
Mr John Massey
Mr George F Ogden (Bermuda)
Mr Piet Oudolf (Holland)
Mr Martin Rickard
Lady Emma Tennant
Mr Robin Williams

Other awards

The Lawrence Medal
Awarded for the best exhibit shown to the Society during the year
UK Horticulture

The Holford Medal
Awarded for the best exhibit of plants and/or flowers (fruit and vegetables excluded) staged by an amateur or group of amateurs at one of the Society's shows

Shunji Mitsuhashi
The Wigan Cup
Awarded for the best exhibit of roses
Southend-on-Sea Borough Council
The Williams Memorial Medal
Awarded for a group of plants and/or cut flowers of one genus (fruit and vegetables excluded) staged at one of the Society's shows
Roulayen Nurseries
The RHS Award
Awarded to the best exhibitor new to the Society's London Flower Shows
A J Waley Medal
Awarded to a working gardener who has helped in the cultivation of rhododendrons
Edwin Clark
Anthony Huxley Trophy
Awarded for the best group exhibit of plants normally grown for decorative effect in a protected environment
Fir Trees Pelargonium Nursery
David Trehane Camellia Cup
Awarded to a person who has significantly promoted or increased the knowledge of the genus Camellia
Julius Nuccio
E H Trophy
Awarded for the best exhibit of cut flowers shown to the Society
Stephen Bailey
Farrer Trophy
Awarded for the best exhibit of plants suitable for the rock garden or alpine house staged at one of the Society's shows
Ashwood Nurseries
George Moore Medal
Awarded to the exhibitor of the hybrid cultivar of Paphiopedilum, Selenipedium, Phragmipedium or intergeneric hybrid between these genera which shows the greatest improvement
Eric Young Orchid Foundation
Gordon-Lennox Trophy
Awarded for the best exhibit of vegetables staged during one of the Society's shows
Medwyn Williams
Lytell Lily Cup
Awarded to someone who has done good work in connection with Lilium, Nomocharis or Fritillaria
Not Awarded in 2002
Peter Barr Memorial Cup
Awarded to someone who has done good work in connection with daffodils
Elise Havens
Ralph B White Memorial Medal
Awarded to the breeder of a new daffodil cultivar exhibited at one of the Society's London Shows
Brian Duncan
Reginald Cory Memorial Cup
Awarded to a breeder whose work has resulted in the recent introduction and availability of new hardy hybrids of merit
Peter Cox, Glendoick Nurseries
The Loder Rhododendron Cup
Awarded to the person judged to have made the greatest value to horticulture with regards to rhododendrons
Lady Cynthia Postan
The Rothschild Challenge Cup
Awarded to the best exhibit in which rhododendrons predominate
Not Awarded in 2002
The Sewell Medal
Awarded for exhibits of plants suitable for the rock garden or alpine house
Not Awarded in 2002
The Stanley Lord Bowl
Awarded for the best exhibit of fruit
Gerald Edwards
Westonbirt Orchid Medal
Awarded to the exhibitor of the best cultivar of an orchid species or of a hybrid grex
Eric Young Orchid Foundation


< RHS HOME Disclaimer © The Royal Horticultural Society 2004 Accessibility gateway to gardening