Board of Directors

The International Society of Cryptozoology (ISC) is governed by a 15-member Board of Directors composed of zoologists, paleontologists, and anthropologists representing different regions of the world. The Board has responsibility for all policy matters affecting the direction of the Society. Three Board members, the President, the Vice President, and the Secretary, jointly form the Executive Committee, which is responsible for implementing the policies of the Board and for the general management of the Society. The Secretary is responsible for day-to-day operations of the Society at the ISC Secretariat.

Biographies of Board Members

As of July, 2004, the Board of Directors consists of the following individuals (the election of four additional Board members is expected soon):

Former or deceased Board members have been: French mammalogist Bernard Heuvelmans, who served as the first President; Roy P. Mackal, a biologist at the University of Chicago, who served as the first Vice President; Dmitri Bayanov, a hominologist at the Darwin Museum, in Moscow, Russia; Joseph F. Gennaro, a cell biologist at New York University; Philippe Janvier, a vertebrate paleontologist at the University of Paris VI; Grover S. Krantz, a physical anthropologist at Washington State University, in Pullman; Paul H. LeBlond, an oceanographer at the University of British Columbia, in Vancouver; Phillip V. Tobias, an anatomist and paleoanthropologist at the University of the Witwatersrand, in Johannesburg, South Africa; Leigh M. Van Valen, a paleoecologist and evolutionist at the University of Chicago (now on the Editorial Board of the journal Cryptozoology); Forrest G. Wood a marine mammalogist at the U.S. Naval Ocean Systems Center, in San Diego, California; and George R. Zug, a herpetologist at the U.S. National Museum of Natural History of the Smithsonian Institution, in Washington, D.C. (now on the Editorial Board of the journal Cryptozoology).

Policy Statement Issued by the Board of Directors