Reading Group Guides.com
Find a Guide Roundtable Advice and Ideas Newsletter Feedback



Poll


Do you get together with members of your book group outside of your meetings?
Vote Here

Past Poll Results

Interviews


Teresa M. Caruso of "Reading Between the Wines"
San Diego, CA

Jude Fricano of Ballston Spa, NY

Mary Methvin of "Food for Talk"
New Iberia, LA

Bobbi G. Furst of "Beautiful Minds"
Lyndhurst, OH


Past Interviews

Tip of the Month


November
Collect books to donate to a women's shelter. Think about great picture books for children and books that women may enjoy escaping with.

December
Buy and wrap a book that was one of your favorites this year and bring it to your meeting. Do a book swap with fellow book members.

More Tips


Club Meeting Recipes


Try these recipes for your next meeting.

Easy Chicken Broccoli Casserole

Hummus

More Recipes










Win Copies of EMMA, Featured in THE JANE AUSTEN BOOK CLUB

Ever thought about making your book club a Jane Austen Book Club? Given the success of the bestseller THE JANE AUSTEN BOOK CLUB, by Karen Joy Fowler, we're sharing with book clubs what they need to make this happen. Between now and April, each month we will publish a discussion guide that Fowler has written expressly for book clubs for one of the six Jane Austen titles mentioned in the book. Our first selection is EMMA.

To make this Austen celebration even more fun, we are selecting 5 groups to each win 12 copies of EMMA for their discussion. Interested? Send us your name and mailing address by writing Contest@readinggroupguides.com by November 30, 2004 to be eligible to win. See complete list of rules here.


True Fires
by Susan Carol McCarthy


In the idyllic town of Lake Esther, Florida, little is allowed to ripple the surface calm --- which is just the way Sheriff Kyle Deluth likes it. But when Deluth "removes" two young children from the local school because of the color of their skin, the sheriff's senseless act of cruelty sparks a fire under the women of Lake Esther that will scorch the lives of all involved. In their pursuit of justice, an indomitable heiress, a revered journalist, and a fading Southern Belle will forge an unlikely alliance across the racial divide. One that will change the face of the town --- and their lives --- forever.

Deeply moving and peopled with a rich cast of characters, Susan Carol McCarthy mines the hotbed of racism with insight and compassion. Bittersweet, inspirational and wholly compelling, True Fires confirms McCarthy's reputation as a dazzling new voice in probing real-life events to interpret the injustices of our past.
Read more here.


Banishing Verona
by Margot Livesey


A couple begins an intense affair, only to be separated abruptly-and perhaps irrevocably-in this surprising, suspenseful love story.

Deftly plotted and filled with unexpected twists, Banishing Verona marks the arrival of another lyrical and wise novel from a writer whose work "radiates with compassion and intelligence and always, deliciously, mystery" (Alice Sebold).
Read more here.

Register Your Book Club by November 12th for your club to be eligible to win a phone chat with Margot Livesey and 12 copies of BANISHING VERONA for your group.


Five Men Who Broke My Heart
by Susan Shapiro


In this honest, hilarious, fiercely intelligent memoir, journalist Susan Shapiro dares to do what every woman dreams of: track down the five men who'd broken her heart and find out what really went wrong. Between the ages of thirteen and thirty-five, Susan had plunged into love, heart-first, five times. One bad breakup was more hurtful and humiliating than the next.

Part relationship manifesto, part confessional, and part valentine to the males in her life she adores, Five Men Who Broke My Heart is for anyone who has ever wondered what became of their first love. Or second, third, fourth, or fifth... Read more here.


The Polar Express
by Chris Van Allsburg


A magical train ride on Christmas Eve takes a boy to the North Pole to receive a special gift from Santa.

Since its publication in 1985, Chris Van Allsburg's THE POLAR EXPRESS has touched the hearts of millions of readers, young and old. Whether viewed on the big screen or the printed page, THE POLAR EXPRESS is a heartwarming story about the power of belief that resonates across generations and cultures. We invite you to settle in and take a ride on the Polar Express -- it's a journey you won't soon forget. Read more here.

A.D. 62: Pompeii by Rebecca East
The Amateur Marriage by Anne Tyler
Banishing Verona by Margot Livesey
Caught in the Act by Toinette Lippe
The End of Detroit by Micheline Maynard
Five Men Who Broke My Heart
by Susan Shapiro
The Fool's Tale by Nicole Galland
Four Souls by Louise Erdrich
The Jane Austen Book Club
by Karen Joy Fowler
The Mango Season by Amulya Malladi
Not Fade Away by Laurence Shames and
Peter Barton
The Salt Roads by Nalo Hopkinson
Savannah by John Jakes
Serving Crazy with Curry by Amulya Malladi





The Good Earth

by Pearl S. Buck




Someone Not Really Her Mother

by Harriet Scott Chessman




Be More Chill

by Ned Vizzini


The Dearest Dorothy Series by Charlene Ann Baumbich
For the legions of readers who enjoy books that celebrate life's simple pleasures, eighty-seven-year-old Dorothy Jean Wetstra and her beloved farming town of Partonville, Illinois, will become instant favorites. In this hilarious, touching series, Charlene Ann Baumbich introduces readers to Dearest Dorothy, who tools around town in a 1976 Lincoln Continental nicknamed "The Tank," plays bunco regularly with her pals, and grabs a stool at Harry's counter often enough to stay on top of the latest-breaking news—which she is often creating. Click here.


The Mitford Years Series by Jan Karon
Come away to Mitford, the small town that takes care of its own. Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, Mitford is a crazy quilt of saints and sinners --- lovable eccentrics all. Seen through the eyes of Father Tim, the long-suffering Village Rector, Mitford abounds in both mysteries and miracles, compelling readers to return again and again to this beloved series.

In the tradition of James Herriot, Bailey White, and Garrison Keillor, author Jan Karon brilliantly captures the foibles and delights of a hilarious cast of characters. Click here.











Caught in the Act
by Toinette Lippe



The End of Detroit
by Micheline Maynard



The Mango Season
by Amulya Malladi



Serving Crazy
with Curry

by Amulya Malladi



A.D. 62: Pompeii
by Rebecca East




The Amateur Marriage
by Anne Tyler



Not Fade Away
by Laurence Shames and Peter Barton



Four Souls
by Louise Erdrich



SEE OUR LIST OF 15 NEW FAVORITES INCLUDING:


SEE OUR LIST OF 15 ONGOING FAVORITES INCLUDING:




Most Borrowed



Back to top.   

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Newsletter

Bookreporter.com | Teenreads.com | Kidsreads.com | AuthorsOnTheWeb.com