Pathfinder Instructions

PATHFINDER

The Kite Runner, by Khaled Hosseini

I. THE BOOK AND ITS AUTHOR

WHERE? WHAT? HOW? NOTES

Khaled Hosseini's official website  

http://www.khaledhosseini.com/

 

May be accessed through Google search engine - http://www.google.com with keyword:  Khaled Hosseini
Publisher's Literary Readers' Guide http://www.penguinputnam.com/static/rguides/us/kite_runner.html

 

Most Literary works have reader's guides online at the publisher's website.

 

NPR online audio interview http://www.npr.org/features/feature.php?wfId=1358775 Author interviews may be accessed through http://www.npr.org
Readers' online forum http://www.constantreader.com/discussions/kiterunner.htm You may post your own thoughts regarding literary works at http://www.constantreader.com
Article from Afghan Magazine http://www.afghanmagazine.com/2004_06/articles/hsadat.shtml Historical background and sociopolitical themes
Major reviews NCLIVE's NoveList - Access Author, Quick Search

Type in the keyword:  Hosseini, Khaled

 

You need a password to access this source at your home computer.  For future reference, NoveList is accessed as follows:  NCLIVE.org, Browse Resources, Literary, NoveList

II. AFGHANISTAN - GEOGRAPHY & CULTURE

WHERE? WHAT? HOW? NOTES
Recent National Geographic articles INFOTRAC Search

 

 

You may access National Geographic articles in the future as follows:  Access NCLIVE.org (must have password at home), Browse Resources, Types, Magazines & Journals, INFOTRAC One File

Keyword: Afghanistan

Select Journal - National Geographic

Cultures of the World:  Afghanistan Title Search - Cultures of the World series  
US State Department information regarding Afghanistan http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/5380.htm May access background notes on any country at http://www.state.gov
"A Life Revealed" http://magma.nationalgeographic.com/ngm/afghangirl

The life of the Afghan "girl" whose picture became one of NG's most famous photographs.
"Educational Resources Focusing on Afghanistan and The Islamic World" http://www.aems.uiuc.edu/HTML/AfghanistanLinks.htm Information on the Geography/Culture, Maps, History, Human Rights
"Cool Planet" webpage on Afghanistan http://www.oxfam.org.uk/coolplanet/kidsweb/world/afghan/index.htm History, Geography & Environment, People & Society
National Geographic article http://www.nationalgeographic.com/photography/uimonen Photo Gallery with commentary
Journey Through Afghanistan http://richardmcguire.com/travel/asia/afghanistan/index.htm Photojournalistic narrative

III. AFGHANISTAN - TRIBAL AND ETHNIC GROUPS

WHERE? WHAT? HOW? NOTES

Sects, Cults and Alternative Religions:  A World Survey and Sourcebook

Subject Search Search under the keyword:  Sects

Journal articles regarding the sects found in Afghanistan Academic Search Elite Access NCLIVE, Click Browse Resources, Subject & Type, Magazines & Journals, Academic Search Elite.  Use the following key terms in the Search bar:  Pashtuns, Hazara, Shia, Sunni

Information from the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) http://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/geos/af.html The CIA's World Factbook contains general intelligence regarding countries around the globe.

Article from Afghan Magazine http://www.afghanmagazine.com/2004_06/articles/hsadat.shtml Discusses historical background and sociopolitical themes found in The Kite Runner

National Geographic article http://www.nationalgeographic.com/landincrisis/ethnic.html Map depicting locations of ethnic groups

Library of Congress reference http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/aftoc.html Scroll to Chapter 2

Network based information http://afghan-network.net/Ethnic-Groups/ Provides a synopsis of eight ethnic groups

Library of Congress material http://countrystudies.us/afghanistan/38.htm Information regarding the Pashtuns

Library of Congress material http://countrystudies.us/afghanistan/40.htm Information regarding the Hazaras

"World Civilizations" website  

http://www.wsu.edu:8080/~dee/SHIA/CONTENTS.HTM

 

Information on Shia' Culture

Excerpt from the Shiite Encyclopedia http://www.oneummah.net/unity/differences.htm A discussion of the issues which separate the Shia and Shiites.

Explanation of Muslim sects http://www.allaboutturkey.com/siisunni.htm  

IV. AFGHANISTAN�MAJOR CITIES, LANDMARKS

WHERE? WHAT? HOW? NOTES

Photo Gallery of Kabul http://magma.nationalgeographic.com/ngm/0212/feature5/zoom1.html  

PBS story of a 16 year old's visit to Kabul and the work that has stemmed from the visit http://www.pbs.org/newshour/extra/speakout/mystory/afghanistan.html# A segement from a wonderful site:

http://www.pbs.org

Herat http://www.kabulcaravan.com/herat.html From Kabul Caravan:  An Online Travel Guide to Afghanistan

Kandahar http://www.kabulcaravan.com/kandahar.html From Kabul Caravan:  An Online Travel Guide to Afghanistan

The Heartbreak of Mazar-e-Sharif http://www.cbc.ca/news/background/afghanistan/mazaresharif.html From Canadian Broadcasting (CBC)

Music Returns to Kandahar http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/1720227.stm From British Broadcasting (BBC)

Khyber Pass http://www.1911encyclopedia.org/K/KH/KHYBER_PASS.htm Encyclopedia article

The Voice of Khyber http://www.voiceofkhyber.com        Radio associated with BBC

V. AFGHANISTAN�CURRENT POLITICAL LEADER

WHERE? WHAT? HOW? NOTES

Article regarding Hamid Karzai http://www.eurasianet.org/departments/insight/articles/eav121001.shtml Political history of the leader himself

Interview with Hamid Karzai http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shows/campaign/interviews/karzai.html PBS interview

Statement of Hamid Karzai http://www.un.org/webcast/ga/57/statements/020912afghanistanE.htm Statement to the United Nations Secretary General

VI. AFGHANISTAN�MILITARY HISTORY

WHERE? WHAT? HOW? NOTES

Unholy War:  Terror in the Name of Islam Subject Search Keyword:  Islam and world

Jihad:  The Trail of Political Islam Subject Search Keyword:  Jihad

Taliban:  Militant Islam, Oil & Fundamentalism in Central Asia Subject Search Keyword:  Taliban

The Rise of the Taliban in Afghanistan:  Mass Mobilization, Civil War & the Future of the Region Subject Search Keyword:  Taliban

Afghanistan:  A Military History from Alexander the Great to the Present Subject Search or Title Search Keyword:  Afghanistan - History

Recent National Geographic articles regarding the Taliban INFOTRAC - You need the NC Password if accessing at home. Browse Resources, Magazines & Journals, INFOTRAC One File

 Keyword:  Taliban

Journal:  National Geographic

State Department article:  "The End of the Taliban Reign of Terror in Afghanistan" http://usembassy.state.gov/posts/pk1/wwwh01121301.html go to http://www.state.gov, In the search bar, type Taliban.  Choose the article title.

Encarta online encyclopedia article regarding Taliban http://encarta.msn.com/encyclopedia_761588418/Taliban.html Access Encarta articles at http://encarta.msn.com.  In this instance, use "Taliban" as keyword.

Latest news regarding continuing activities of the Taliban http://search.msn.com Type "Taliban" into search bar.

Understanding Afghanistan:  Land in Crisis http://www.nationalgeographic.com/landincrisis/refugee.html Information regarding Northern Alliance, Taliban, Refugees

Afghan Magazine article http://www.afghanmagazine.com/2004_06/articles/hsadat.shtml Explores political themes

National Geographic article http://www.nationalgeographic.com/photography/uimonen/ Photojournalism

VII. AFGHANISTAN�CURRENT INTERNATIONAL, NATIONAL AND LOCAL ISSUES

WHERE? WHAT? HOW? NOTES

The Middle East:  Opposing Viewpoints Subject Search:  Ethnic

Opposing viewpoints is a series which debates all current, major controversial issues.

Look up other opposing viewpoints issues by title.

Revenge:  A Story of Hope Title Search Personal Narrative

War Without End:  Israelis, Palestinians and the Struggle for a Promised Land Subject Search:  Ethnic, Arab-Israeli conflict or Title Search  

Unholy War Subject Search:  Islam and World Politics  

Both Right & Left Handed:  Arab Women Talk About Their Lives Subject Search:  Arab Women  

Drug Trafficking Subject Search:  Drug Traffic  

Articles regarding Women's issues in Afghanistan Browse Resources, Subject & Type, Magazines & Journals, Academic Search Elite

 

Use the keyterm:  Afghanistan & Women

Check the Full-Text articles box

Articles regarding Drug Trafficking in Afghanistan Browse Resources, Subject & Type, Magazines & Journals, Academic Search Elite Use the keyterm:  Drug trafficking and Afghanistan

Check full-text

Articles regarding Middle East politics Browse Resources, Subject & Type, Magazines & Journals, Academic Search Elite Use the keyterm:  Middle East Politics

Limit by date and full-text

The Situation of Women in Afghanistan http://www.un.org/events/women/2002/sit.htm United Nations article (2002)

Women & Girls in Afghanistan http://www.state.gov/www/global/women/fs_980310_women_afghan.html State Department article

Women in Afghanistan:  A Human Rights Catastrophe http://web.amnesty.org/library/index/engasa110232003 Article from Amnesty International

National Geographic article on the Taliban wars and the resulting effects on the Country's women http://www.nationalgeographic.com/photography/uimonen/ Explains the Muslim law Sharia-Photojournalism

UN Counter-Narcotics Chief to Address Severe Drug Cultivation-Trafficking During Visit to Afghanistan http://www.un.org/News/Press/docs/2004/afg254.doc.htm United Nations article

Middle East Expert Discusses Islamic Extremism http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2002/12/1211_021211_mideast.html National Geographic News

One Stop Research http://onestop.nationalgeographic.com/onestop/

Keywords:  "Middle East Politics" or "Women in Afghanistan"

 

VIII. AFGHANISTAN�FOLKLIFE

WHERE? WHAT? HOW? NOTES

Languages of Afghanistan http://www.ethnologue.com/show_country.asp?name=Afghanistan Provides additional information on each language listed
Information on primary languages of Afghanistan http://www.afghan-web.com/language Alphabet provided
Listing of languages in Afghanistan http://www.afghan-network.net/Culture/languages.html Official languages highlighted
Rustam http://www.pantheon.org/articles/r/rustam.html Information on the Persian hero
Rostam and Sohrab http://www.iranview.com/poetry/Rostam%20and%20Sohrab.htm The legend itself

Information on Shahnanah & Omar Khazyan http://www.loc.gov/rr/amed/guide/nes-iranianworld.html Library of Congress site

e-text of The Book of Kings http://etext.library.adelaide.edu.au/aut/firdausi.html From Univ. of Adelaide Library

Text to Rubaiyat of Amar Khayyam http://www.armory.com/~thrace/ev/siir/Omar_Khayyam.html

Edward FitzGerald's translation

Poems by Rumi http://www.khamush.com/poems.html  

Biography of Rumi http://www.iranchamber.com/literature/jrumi/molana_rumi.php Iran Chamber society

Profile of Rumi http://www.pbs.org/empires/islam/profilesrumi.html PBS site

IX. AMERICAN AFGHANIS

WHERE? WHAT? HOW? NOTES

Arab Americans Use keyword phrase "ethnic groups" Search by title in State Department web site http://www.USInfo.State.gov/

Interracial America Title search  

State Department article:  "Muslim Life in America" http://www.USInfo.State.gov/products/pubs/muslimlife Search by title in State Department web site:

http://www.USInfo.State.gov/

 

US Still Resettling Afghan Refugees Here http://www.worldnetdaily.com/news/article.asp?ARTICLE_ID=28886 World Net Daily report

With Us or Against Us:  Afghans in America http://www.rochestercontemporary.org/wfs.html Order the video mentioned in this website

"VA Afghans Caught Between Old World and New" http://www.washingtonpost.com/ac2/wp-dyn/A39690-2001Nov4?language=printer Washington Post article - November 5, 2001

X. AFGHANISTAN�SPORTS AND RECREATION

WHERE? WHAT? HOW? NOTES

Kites:  The Science and the Wonder Subject Search Keyword:  Kites

"State of Turmoil" Browse Resources, Subject & Type, Magazines & Journals, Academic Search Elite Use keyword:  Sports in Afghanistan

Information on Kite Flying in Afghanistan http://www.rferl.org/nca/features/2002/11/15112002192521.asp  

Photo Gallery of Kite Flying in Afghanistan http://subvision.net/sky/planetkite/sub/afghanistan  

Sports and Recreation http://www.settlement.org/cp/english/afghanistan/sports.html Information on popular sports within Afghanistan

Afghan National Sport (Buzkashi) http://walidsalehi.tripod.com/buzhashi.htm  

Other Popular Sports Played in Afghanistan http://walidsalehi.tripod.com/popula.htm  

As Sports Return to Afghanistan, So Do Olympic Hopes http://espn.go.com/oly/news/2002/0520/1384658.html ESPN site

Information on the Afghanistan Sports Federation http://www.afghansportsfederation.org/about.htm An organization for all Afghani athletes

XI. ISLAM�GENERAL

WHERE? WHAT? HOW? NOTES
Islam in Context:  Past, Present, Future Subject Search Keyword:  Islam - Doctrines
Symbols of Islam Subject Search Keyword:  Islamic art and symbolism
Islam:  origins, practices, holy texts, sacred persons, sacred places Title Search       
Islamic spirituality Title Search
The Essential Koran, The Heart of Islam:  An Introductory Selection of Readings from the Quran Subject Search Keyword:  Koran
Readings in the Quran Title Search
"Islam:  The Basics"

New Internationalist article

INFOTRAC ONE FILE:

Browse Resources, Magazines & Journals, InfoTrac One-File

Keyword:  Islam - Doctrines
Islam:  Empire of Faith http://www.pbs.org/empires/islam/ Public Broadcasting Service (PBS)
National Geographic's "The World of Islam" http://magma.nationalgeographic.com/ngm/data/2002/01/01/html/ft_20020101.5.html Can be accessed at NG's One-Stop-Research
Maps, Photos, Art and Related Articles http://onestop.nationalgeographic.com/onestop

Use Keyword:  Maps, Photos, Art and related articles - Islam

NG's One-Stop-Research
"What is the Koran?" in Atlantic Monthly http://www.theatlantic.com/issues/99jan/koran.htm
State Department Article:  "Muslim Life in America" http://www.USInfo.State.gov/products/pubs/muslimlife

Root site:  http://www.USInfo.State.gov

Search by title of article
Encarta multimedia encyclopedia: "Ramadan" http://encarta.msn.com/encyclopedia_761559768/Ramadan.html May be accessed through http://www.encarta.com

XII. IRAN

WHERE? WHAT? HOW? NOTES
The Iranians:  Persia, Islam and the Soul of a Nation Subject Search:  Iran  
Guts and Glory:  The Rise and Fall of Oliver North Subject Search:  Iran Information regarding weapon sales to the Contras
Modern Iran Subject Search:  Iran  
Iran-Iraq War, 1980-1988 Subject Search:  Iran  
The Iranians:  Persia, Islam & The Soul of a Nation Subject Search:  Iran  
The Shah's Last Ride:  The Fate of an Ally Subject Search:  Iran Information regarding the events leading to the Hostage Crisis
America Held Hostage:  The Secret Negotiations Subject Search:  Iran  
Articles regarding the Iranian Revolution Browse Resources, Subject & Type, Magazines & Journals, Academic Search Elite Keyword:  Iranian Revolution
Articles regarding modern day Iran Browse Resources, Subject & Type, Magazines & Journals, Academic Search Elite Keyword:  Iran

Limit to articles from past six months and by full-text

Information regarding modern day Iran, the Iranian Revolution and the Islamic Republic of Iran

http://www.wsu.edu:8080/~dee/SHIA/CONTENTS.HTM

 

 

University of Washington based site
"Testing the Waters of Reform" http://www.nationalgeographic.com/ngm/9907/fngm/ 2003 article
Country Profile http://plasma.nationalgeographic.com/mapmachine/profiles/ir.html National Geographic
Country Profile http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/5314.htm State Department
"Persian Mirrors:  The Elusive Face of Iran" http://www.state.gov/s/p/of/proc/tr/3536.htm Speech of a Foreign Correspondent at the State Department's website

XIII. INTERNATIONAL ADOPTION

WHERE? WHAT? HOW? NOTES

Issues in Adoption Subject Search Keyword:  Adoption

Adoption:  Opposing Viewpoints Subject Search Keyword:  Adoption

Another title in the "Opposing Viewpoints" series

Articles on International Adoption Browse Resources, Subject & Type, Magazines & Journals, Academic Search Elite Keyword:  International Adoption

International Adoption Research Findings http://home.comcast.net/~rinelson/International_Adoption_Research_Article.pdf  

"International Adoption" http://travel.state.gov/family/adoption.html State Department article