The Mayor

Past Mayors


Originally the London Borough of Barking and Dagenham was two Boroughs and therefore had two separate Mayors, the first Mayor of Barking Council was Chairman R Hewett in 1882 - 1890 and the first Mayor of Dagenham Council was Chairman H R Hill, JP in 1930 - 1931.


When the two Boroughs merged into the London Borough of Barking in 1965, this ended and one Mayor was elected for the newly merged Boroughs.


In 1980 the London Borough of Barking was renamed the London Borough of Barking and Dagenham and the first Mayor elected after the renaming was Councillor B P Walker.


A new Mayor is elected every year and their term of office comes to a close when a new Mayor is inaugurated at Annual Council which is held in May at the Town Hall in Barking. The outgoing Mayor then becomes the Deputy Mayor for one year.


Mayors of Barking (1882 - 1980) |

Mayors of Dagenham (1930 - 1965) |

Mayors of Barking and Dagenham (1980 - Present) |


Picture of A F J Chorley

Councillor A F J Chorley

The Mayor of Dagenham, 1938-1940



The Mayor's Office

Members' Services

Civic Centre


RM10 7BN


Janet Allen

Mayor's Personal Assistant

Tel: 020 8227 2121

Fax: 020 8227 2162



Dawn Heale

Administrative Officer

Tel: 020 8227 2373

Fax: 020 8227 2162



Level Triple-A conformance icon, W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0

Accessibility level Triple-A |

Borough logo skip navigation



A to Z of Services|

Council Departments|

Site Directory


Picture of the Mayor: Councillor Ron Curtis

Councillor Ron Curtis

The Worshipful The Mayor 2004-2005


About the Council |

Local Democracy |

Councillors |

The Mayor |


Report or Complain|

Contact us|

Service Standards|



Privacy Statement|

Data Protection|

Freedom of Information|


Directgov logo



Image of a line


© MMV London Borough

of Barking and Dagenham

Civic Centre

Dagenham, RM10 7BN


Telephone: 020 8592 4500

Fax: 020 8227 2806