Lusaka City Council
About LCC About Lusaka Services Council Committees LCC Projects Recreation Customer Feedback

History of Lusaka
Lusaka in the early days

Zambia's Independence Day
is observed on the
24th October, each year

International Dialling
The country and area codes
to call Lusaka
telephone numbers is


Brief History

Lusaka officially became the capital city of the Republic of Zambia in May 1935, and was elevated to the status of a City by Royal Charter, twenty-five years later.

Capital Cities in Zambia have had a rich history dating back to the turn of the twentieth (20th) century when fort Jameson (now Chipata) and Kalomo were administrative Headquarteters for the North-Eastern and North-Western Rhodesia respectively. Later, the seat of administration in North Western Rhodesia was moved to Livingstone in 1907. In 1911, the two (2) regions were merged to become Northern Rhodesia. In those early days, North Eastern Rhodesia fell within the administrative jurisdiction of Nyasaland (now Malawi), Kalomo therefore is generally regarded as the first capital of Zambia. Lusaka may therefore be regarded as having been the third in line.

The choice of Lusaka to become the capital did not follow what is usually regarded as the traditional development pattern. It was not the home of an established ruler, neither was it a natural fortification nor the most convenient point of meeting for travellers from all parts of the land.

Lusaka did not possess the scenic attraction of Livingstone neither was it endowed with the mineral resources like the Copperbelt. The Town's main attribute was its central location and healthy climate. Therefore, despite having little by way of recommendation Lusaka has since its transformation as a capital city steadily grown to its present status of one of the most attractive and rapidly developing centers on the African continent. It is a metropolis, which provides a home to about two and half million (2.5M) inhabitants of many different nationalities. It has grown to become the seat of Government of the Republic of Zambia and as such all diplomatic missions, international organisations, industries and commercial entities have set base. Its political,social,economic and cultural significance has also increased through the years.

Summary of the History
1905 Chilanga District formed and the railway line reaches Lusaka from the south.
1912 Demarcation of the first nine stands in Lusaka as (Lusaka).
1913 The name 'Lusaka' gazetted. The village Management Board established.
1929 Lusaka became a township.
1931 Boma moves from Chilanga to Lusaka
1935 Capital moves from Livingstone to Lusaka.
1960 City status conferred on Lusaka.
1970 Greater Lusaka created by the extension of boundary from 39 kilometres (36 square miles) to 360 square kilometres (139 square miles).
1973 Lusaka celebrates its Diamond Jubilee 1913-1973.
1976 Lusaka becomes a province.
Website developed by CopperNET Solutions
 To top of page
LCC Logo
About Lusaka
  History Lusaka
  Police Stations
  City Museum
   Site Map
Contact the Council:
For site problems or feedback: