N E W S   R E L E A S E

State Rep. Kevin Blaum




CONTACT: Leslie Suhr
House Democratic Communications Office
Email: lsuhr@pahouse.net





Blaum assumes leadership role as caucus secretary


HARRISBURG, Nov. 17 – State Rep. Kevin Blaum, D-Wilkes-Barre, today was elected to House leadership as the Democratic Caucus secretary, the fourth highest ranking position.


As secretary, he is responsible for certain administrative duties, including tracking votes on the House floor and working with leadership to develop legislation and policy. He has served as chairman of the House Aging and Youth Committee. Prior to this, he had served as Democratic chairman of the House Judiciary Committee.


Blaum fills the position last held by state Rep. Jeff Coy, who retired from the state House after serving 22 years.


“This is an exciting opportunity for me to serve in the leadership office,” Blaum said. “I am honored to have the support of my colleagues as I take on this new endeavor. I am pleased to have the opportunity to have a greater role in the development of our policy and legislation.”


The Wilkes-Barre native was elected to the Pennsylvania House of Representatives in 1980 after serving five years on Wilkes-Barre City Council.


Blaum was the architect of Pennsylvania's Underage Drinking Law as well as the sponsor of Pennsylvania's Ethics Act. In 2001, Blaum ensured that Pennsylvania was in full compliance with the federal child support law that required each state to use the national medical support notice to its employer.


Blaum is currently working to make day care centers safer, improve Pennsylvania’s foster care and adoption system, give seniors better long-term care, and provide pharmaceutical assistance to low-income, older Pennsylvanians. He is also working on legislation which would create a consumer advocate for insurance matters, along with legislation addressing underage drinking in the Commonwealth and training for school police officers.


The current members of House Democratic leadership retained their posts including House Minority Leader H. William DeWeese, D-Greene/Fayette; Minority Whip Mike Veon, D-Beaver; Policy Chairman Steve Stetler, D-York; Caucus Administrator Fred Belardi, D-Lackawanna; and Appropriations Chairman Dwight Evans, D-Phila.