SearchSite MapContact UsFeedbackFrançais


Return to list of awards

Bancroft Award

for instruction and research in the science of geology

Awarded: Bi-annually
Next deadline: December  1, 2005

Mrs. J. A. Bancroft endowed in 1968 an award "for instruction and research in the science of geology" to honour Joseph Austin Bancroft, FRSC (1882-1957) who was Dawson Professor at McGill University, 1913-1929.

The award is given for publication, instruction, and research in the earth sciences that have conspicuously contributed to public understanding and appreciation of the subject.

The award consists of a presentation scroll and a cash award of $2,500, and is awarded every two years if there is a suitable candidate.

The selection committee consists of five Fellows who together represent a broad cross-section of the geological and geophysical sciences. They are elected at the annual meeting of the Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences Division of the Academy of Science. Each member serves for four years, two appointed every two years. The chairperson is appointed by the Division for a two-year term, from among those committee members continuing into the latter part of their term of office.

Award Winners