"Congratulations" – 14 songs to compete
Eurovision Song Contest’s 50th anniversary show

Geneva, 16 June 2005

A total of 14 songs have been selected to take part in Congratulations, the special ESC 50th anniversary TV show organized on behalf of the EBU by Danmarks Radio (DR) in Copenhagen on Saturday 22 October 2005.

The special two-hour celebration show will be broadcast live (21:00 CET) in over 25 countries across Europe (the final list to be announced). On the night, European viewers will televote to choose the most popular ESC song. As with the Eurovision Song Contest, the centralized televoting system will be developed and coordinated for "Congratulations" by digame.de GmbH, an affiliate of Deutsche Telekom.

The 14 songs taking part in "Congratulations" were selected in the following way: fans across the world chose 10 of the songs by voting at eurovision.tv. An additional four wild card songs were picked by the ESC Reference Group.

To help voters with their choices, the online voting platform featured video clips along with facts and figures about songs and performers. Online voting for the 50th anniversary event started on eurovision.tv on 20 May and ended on 12 June.

The 14 songs are, in chronological order: "Nel Blu Di Pinto di Blu or Volare" (Domenico Modugno, 1958, Italy); "Poupée de Cire Poupée de Son" (France Gall, 1965, Luxembourg); "Congratulations" (Cliff Richard), 1968, UK); "Eres Tú" (Mocedades, 1973, Spain); "Waterloo" (ABBA, 1974, Sweden); "Save Your Kisses for Me" (Brotherhood of Man, 1976, UK); "What’s Another Year" (Johnny Logan, 1980; Ireland); "Ein Bisschen Frieden" (Nicole, 1982, Germany); "Hold Me Now" (Johnny Logan, 1987, Ireland); "Ne Partez Pas Sans Moi" (Céline Dion, 1988, Switzerland); "Diva" (Dana International, 1998, Israel); "Fly on the Wings of Love" (Olsen Brothers, 2000, Denmark); "Everyway That I Can" (Sertab Erener, 2003, Turkey); "My Number One" (Helena Paparizou, 2005, Greece).

Fans who took part in the online voting will get a chance to win a trip for two to Copenhagen and seats to watch "Congratulations". Runners-up can win one of 25 Eurovision anniversary books, 50 exclusive CD and DVD anniversary box sets are also being given away. The prize winners will be announced shortly.

Eurovision Song Contest stars, including The Olsen Brothers (Joergen and Noller Olsen) and pop celebrities, will perform spectacular medleys of the most loved, most popular and most memorable moments from the Eurovision Song Contest.


Geneva-based EBU unites and serves 72 national broadcasters from 52 countries in and around Europe. Working on behalf of its members in the European broadcasting area, the EBU negotiates broadcasting rights for major sports events, operates the Eurovision and Euroradio networks, organizes programme exchanges, coordinates coproductions and provides a full range of other operational, commercial, technical, legal, and strategic services.

Further information

Aline Ingwersen, Media Officer, +41 (0)79 774 86 44; ingwersen@ebu.ch; www.ebu.ch

Congratulations! Please be advised that all voting winners have been drawn and addressed by regular mail.

to top