JCU - School of Information Technology : The School
Web Sitemap | Search | A-Z Index | Contacts | Calendar | Campus Maps

School of Information Technology

General Information about The School of Information Technology

A School of Information Technology at the James Cook University was established in January 2000. It continues the courses and degrees taught by the Discipline of Computer Science.

The Department of Computer Science was established in 1985 at the Douglas Campus of the James Cook University in the North Queensland city of Townsville, Australia. The first degree programs allowing a major in Computer Science at the University were started in 1986. In 1996, following the establishment of a campus of the University at Smithfield near Cairns, Computer Science subjects were offered on both major campuses. It's members of the staff are mostly young, capable, and enthusiastic, with considerable research experience. Our members of staff members have been attracted from a wide range of locations including Asia, the Middle East, Australia, Europe, North America, and South Africa. We maintain excellent staff-student relations and offer a superb learning environment, with small class sizes and an emphasis on small group tutorial and practical sessions.

The Graduates of the Discipline are working in a variety of environments overseas and in Australia (including major Commonwealth and State Government Departments, major banks, universities, AT&T; Bell Laboratories in the USA, BMC Software USA, IBM, and other major software development companies).

In 1999, as a recommendation of a review of Information Technology at the James Cook University by Emeritus Professor Ken McKinnon and Ms Sue Walker the School of Information Technology was proposed to strengthen the focus of Information Technology studies, and to build on existing expertise in Computer Science and Computer Engineering within the University. The school came into effect from January 1 2000.

Other information about us:

The School of Information Technology maintains two principal Web servers one in Cairns (Smithfield) and one in Townsville (Douglas). They are