The Albert Cooper Competition was first held in 1990 and was named in honour of the legendary British flute-maker and designer, Albert Cooper. Mr. Cooper offered to present a hand made silver headjoint to the winner, especially engraved, and continued to do so every year until he retired. This year's winner will again receive a Brannen Cooper silver headjoint.

In addition, the winner will be invited to perform a concert at the Stratford-on-Avon Music Festival later this year as well as giving the prize-winner's concert at next year's Flute Festival.

This prestigious Competition has in the past been won by players who have gone on to achieve success as professional flute players and teachers.

Winner of the 2005 Competition

Liam Mallet

Finalists for the 2005 Competition

JulieGroves Elisse Kleiner
Liam Mallett Jessi Rosinski

Semi-Finalists for the 2005 Competition

Alfredo Deano Elisse Kleiner
Simon Gilliver Liam Mallett
JulieGroves Jessi Rosinski

Previous Winners

2004 Yamani Fuentes Anaya
2003 Gemma Jukes
2002 Gareth Hanson
2001 Ian Mullin
2000 Anna Wolstenholme
1999 Clare Findlater
1998 Catherine Goodman
1997 Andrea Curzon-Hobson
1996 Janet McKay
1995 Gary Arbuthnot
1994 Linda Howarth
1993 Steven Foster
1992 Allan Rogers
1991 Julian Sperry
1990 Carole Lyttle & Kirsten Spratt


Rules for the 2005 Competition

The Albert Cooper Competition is open to all students on the main course.
The first round of the competition will be on Monday 1 August and candidates are required to play any movement by J.S. Bach.
The Semi-finals will be on Wednesday 3 August and students who reach this stage will perform an eight-minute programme plus a set piece, which will be given after the first round
The Finals will be on Saturday 6 August at 2:00pm and will consist of a twenty-minute programme, which must include contrasting works and the movement of a concerto played from memory. There will also be a short set piece in this round.
Students may not ask for help or advice from Tutors or Staff on programming for the competition.