ENGLISH 3MO3

ROMANTIC POETRY

Fall 1998

Nicholas Halmi

Texts | Method of Evaluation | Syllabus | Further reading

Chronology of the Romantic period

Map of Britain and Ireland (click on the blue dots for information on particular cities)


TEXTS

Readings will be taken from Romanticism: An Anthology, ed. Duncan Wu, 2nd ed. (Blackwell, 1998), and a custom booklet prepared for this course.

Since all of the texts in the custom booklet are taken from the World Wide Web, you can avoid purchasing the booklet by downloading and printing out those texts yourself. Indeed most (though not all) of the texts assigned in this course are available on the Web, and can be downloaded by clicking on the links in the syllabus below.


METHOD OF EVALUATION

Class participation (10%), 1000-word essay (20%), 2000-word essay (40%), final exam (30%).


SYLLABUS

Asterisks indicate readings included in the custom booklet.

Thursday, 10 Sept. Introduction
Monday, 14 Sept. Burke, from Reflections on the Revolution in France; Wollstonecraft, from Vindication of the Rights of Men
Thursday, 17 Sept. Anna Barbauld, On the Expected General Rising of the French Nation*; Mary Robinson, January 1795*
Monday, 21 Sept. Barbauld, Epistle to William Wilberforce; William Blake, from Songs of Innocence (Introduction, The Lamb, The Chimney Sweeper, The Divine Image, Holy Thursday) and Songs of Experience (Introduction, Holy Thursday, The Chimney Sweeper, The Sick Rose, The Tiger, London, The Human Abstract)
Thursday, 24 Sept. Barbauld, The Rights of Woman; Wollstonecraft, from Vindication of the Rights of Woman
Monday, 28 Sept. Blake, Visions of the Daughters of Albion (text version or graphical version); Charlotte Smith, from Elegiac Sonnets
Thursday, 1 Oct. William Wordsworth, selections from Lyrical Ballads (Goody Blake and Harry Gill, The Thorn, Anecdote for Fathers); Preface to Lyrical Ballads (1802)
Monday, 5 Oct. S. T. Coleridge, The Rime of the Ancyent Marinere (1798 version), The Aeolian Harp, This Lime Tree Bower My Prison, Frost at Midnight
Thursday, 8 Oct. Wordsworth, Tintern Abbey
Monday, 12 Oct. THANKSGIVING
Thursday, 15 Oct. First essay due

Wordsworth, Michael; Barbauld, Washing Day*

Monday, 19 Oct. Wordsworth, Two-book Prelude (1799)
Thursday, 22 Oct. Coleridge, Kubla Khan
Monday, 26 Oct. Coleridge, Christabel (click here for a picture of the MS in Victoria College Library, Univ. of Toronto); Barbauld, To Mr Coleridge; Robinson, Mrs Robinson to the Poet Coleridge
Thursday, 29 Oct. Coleridge, Dejection: An Ode, To William Wordsworth
Monday, 2 Nov. Wordsworth, from Preface to Poems (1815); Coleridge, from Biographia Literaria, Chap. XIII
Thursday, 5 Nov. P. B. Shelley, from Defence of Poetry
Monday, 9 Nov. Felicia Hemans, Stanzas to the Memory of George III,* To Wordsworth,* The Homes of England*; Shelley, England in 1819, Ozymandias
Thursday, 12 Nov. Barbauld, Eighteen Hundred and Eleven*
Monday, 16 Nov. John Keats, Ode to Psyche, Ode to a Nightingale, Ode on a Grecian Urn
Thursday, 19 Nov. Keats, To Autumn
Monday, 23 Nov. Second essay due

Shelley, Mt Blanc, Ode to the West Wind

Thursday, 26 Nov. Shelley, Adonais
Monday, 30 Nov. Lord Byron, Childe Harold III, Prometheus
Thursday, 3 Dec. Byron, Manfred; review
Monday, 14 Dec. Final exam



Back to the top