nordic flags
The home pages for the Usenet newsgroup soc.culture.nordic

Denmark - >>

Introduction: Denmark, basic facts


Subject: 3.1 

Fact Sheet

Name: Kongeriget Danmark
Telephone country code: 45
Area: 43,075 km² / 16,631 sq mi.
Terrain: low and flat to gently rolling plains
Highest point: Yding Skovhøj, 173 m (568 ft)
Natural resources: crude oil, natural gas, fish, salt, limestone
Land boundaries: Germany
Population: 5,163,955 (1992)
Population density: 119.9 persons per km² (310.5 per sq mi.)
Distribution: 84% urban, 16% rural (1989)
Life expectancy: women 78; men 72 (1992)
Infant mortality: 7 per 1,000 live births (1992)
Capital: København (Copenhagen) (pop. 467,850)
[ pop. of Metropolitan area: 1.4 million ] (1989)
Other major towns: Århus (245,000),
Odense (170,000),
Ålborg (154,000)
Administrative units: 14 counties (amter)
Flag: white cross on red background (the "Dannebrog")
Type: Constitutional monarchy
Head of state: Queen Margrethe II
National anthem:Der er et yndigt land (Sound)
Royal anthem: Kong Christian stod ved højen mast
Languages: Danish
Currency: krone (Danish crown, DKK)
for the current exchange rate,
see the URL <>
Climate: temperate sea-climate
average temperature in Copenhagen:
-3°C - 2°C in Feb., and 14°C - 22°C in June
Religion: Evangelic-Lutheran (91%, 1988) (official state-religion)
Exports: meat, dairy products, fish, machinery, electronics,chemicals, furniture


Subject: 3.2 

General information


3.2.1 Geography, climate, vegetation

Denmark is the southernmost of the Nordic countries. Located between the North Sea on the west and the Baltic Sea on the southeast, Denmark is separated from Norway by the Skagerrak and from Sweden by the Kattegat and the Øresund. In the south, it shares a 68 km border with Germany. It consists of the peninsula of Jutland (Jylland) in the west, and an archipelago of 406 islands in the east, of which the most important ones are Zealand (Sjælland) on which Copenhagen is located, and Funen (Fyn). Denmark is part of Europe's temperate deciduous forest belt. The natural vegetation in most of the country is a mixed forest, with the beech most common tree. However, almost all parts of the country are under cultivation today, and virtually all the existing forests have been planted. Coniferous trees prevail in parts of the former heath areas in western Jutland, and the dune areas have been forested with spruce and pine. Denmark has a 12% forest cover.


Denmark - >>

3.2.2 Economy

Denmark is one of the smaller states of Europe, only slightly larger than Switzerland. All of Denmark is very flat, the highest peak being only 173 meters high. This, as well as the fertile soil and temperate climate, makes it very suitable for agriculture; about 70% of Denmark's land surface is used for agricultural production (but only about 7% of the labor force is in agriculture). Barley is the most important crop, followed by grass and green fodder, and root crops. Most of the barley and root crops are grown primarily for use as livestock feed (some, of course, goes to the worldfamous Danish beers). About 90% of all farm income is derived from animal products; sausages, bacon, cheese and butter are the most famous products of Danish animal husbandry. Danish design is world famous. Denmark doesn't have much natural resources, although limestone, clay, and gravel are mined in many areas. In northern Jutland, salt deposits have been exploited since World War II, and granite and kaolin are mined on the island of Bornholm. Since 1972 petroleum and gas deposits of the Danish sector of the North Sea have been exploited.


Denmark - >>

3.2.3 Government

According to the constitution Denmark is a constitutional monarchy with the legislative power jointly vested in the regent and the Parliament, but the responsibility for the actions of the king/queen solely taken by the ministers in the Cabinet. The Evangelical Lutheran Church is supported by the State as a State Church.

The parliamentary system has been unicameral since 1953; the parliament is called the 'Folketing'. The 179 members (of which two are elected in Greenland and two in the Faroe Islands) are elected for four-year terms. The Prime Minister can call an early election. For the last 20 years there have never been fewer than 8 parties represented in the Folketing.

Denmark is a member of the European Union, and elects 16 members of the European parliament. The Faroes and Greenland, on the other hand, are outside the EU.

Since 1955 Denmark has had an ombudsman, who oversees the conduct of the cabinet and the decisions of the administration. All citizens have the right to appeal government actions to the ombudsman.

- Is the text above really reliable?
- See the discussion in section 1.2.2!

© Copyright 1994-2001 by Antti Lahelma and Johan Olofsson.
You are free to quote this page as long as you mention the URL.
The line of flags is modified after a picture at det Åländska skoldatanätet.
This page was last updated March the 10th in the year of 2001.