The Presidential Medal of Freedom 

1946 U.S. Medal of Freedom Recipients

Homer Morrison Byington, Jr.

Andrew Berry

Father Horacio de la Costa S. J.

Dr. Thomas Francis Jr.

Elaine Delhaye-Gill

Sir William Samuel Stephenson

Margaret Elizabeth Utinsky

The United States Constitution - The Law of the Land

The Medal of Honor - "THE BRAVEST OF THE BRAVE" - The Medal of Honor, established by joint resolution of Congress, 12 July 1862 (amended by Act of 9 July 1918 and Act of 25 July 1963) is awarded in the name of Congress to a person who, while a member of the Armed Services, distinguishes himself conspicuously by gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of his life above and beyond the call of duty while engaged in an action against any enemy of The United States; while engaged in military operations involving conflict with an opposing foreign force; or while serving with friendly foreign forces engaged in an armed conflict against an opposing armed force in which The United States is not a belligerent party. The deed performed must have been one of personal bravery or self-sacrifice so conspicuous as to clearly distinguish the individual above his comrades and must have involved risk of life. Incontestable proof of the performance of service is exacted and each recommendation for award of this decoration is considered on the standard of extraordinary merit.


       Comments & Questions

     Presidential Medal of Freedom Homepage

       Visit Our Other Sites