London District [UK]
Authors and Contributors this page: T.F. Mills
Page created 1 July 2005. Corrected and updated 15.08.2005

London District


 United Kingdom  
    Titles & History
    Forces Under Command
   Titles and History
Index of Home Cmds
Index of Overseas Cmds
  1905.02 London District
formed as an independent District within the Command system, with HQ at Horse Guards, Whitehall, London SW, encompassing County of London, and Guards Depots at Caterham, Windsor and Pirbright
1944? reorganised in Eastern Command to encompass City and County of London and Middlesex; Primary Training Centres established in locations of old regimental depots (using old district numbers)
1946.10.28 training functions scattered in Guards Depot,and C Group and Infantry Training Centre at Shorncliffe (R Fusiliers, Middlesex Regt), and Primary Training Centres established in locations of old regimental depots (using old district numbers) to carry out initial recruit training
  1948.07.01 C Group redesignated Home Counties Brigade
  1948 PTCs closed, and all training taken over by Brigade Infantry Training Centres
  1951 ITCs closed and training resumed at old regimental depot PTCs
  1959 regimental depots closed, and training resumed by Brigade Infantry Training Centres
  1968? transferred to Southern Command
  1972.04.01 transferred to UK Land Forces
  1995.04.01 transferred to UK Land Command
   Forces Under Command
Index of Divisions
Index of Brigades
  General Officer Commanding London District:
(simultaneously Major-General Commanding Brigade of Guards, later The Household Division)
    Gen. Sir T. Kelly-Kenny, GCB
1905.08.25 Lt-Gen. Sir Laurence James Oliphant, KCVO, CB
  <1908> Maj.-Gen. Sir Frederick William Stopford
1909.12.10 Maj-Gen. A.E. Codrington, CVO, CB
  1913.09.03 Lt-Gen. Sir F. Lloyd
  1918.10.01 Maj-Gen. G.P.T. Fielding
1938.10.26 Maj-Gen. Augustus Francis Andrew Nicol Thorne, CMG, DSO
1939.10.18 Lt-Gen. Sir Bertram N. Sergison-Brooke, KCVO, CB, CMG, DSO
1942.06.01 Maj-Gen. Arthur Francis Smith
1944.02.18 Maj-Gen. Henry Charles Loyd
  Maj-Gen. F.J.C. Bowes-Lyon, CB, OBE, MC
1973.10 Maj-Gen. P.J.N. Ward, CBE
1976 Maj-Gen. J. Swinton, OBE
1979 Maj-Gen. H.D.A. Langley, MBE
1983 Maj-Gen. J.A.C.G. Eyre, CVO, CBE
1986 Maj-Gen. C.J. Airy, CBE
1989.07.01 Maj-Gen. S.C. Cooper
1991.07.01 Maj-Gen. R. J. S. Corbett, CB
1994.06.22 Maj-Gen. I. C. Mackay-Dick, MBE
1997.06.20 Maj-Gen. E.J. Webb-Carter, OBE
2000.12.18 Maj-Gen. C.R. Watt, CBE
2003.10.20 Maj-Gen. S.G.L. Roberts, OBE

How to Find Books