Istana Singapore
Office of the President of the Republic of Singapore
Orchard Road, Singapore 238823

Press Releases

The Presidency


Questions ?

Council of Presidential Advisers

The 1991 Constitutional Amendment also provided for the establishment of a Council of Presidential Advisers (CPA) to advise the President. It is obligatory for the President to consult the Council before he vetoes the budgets of the Government and key government-linked bodies and the appointments of government nominees to key posts.

The Council comprises six members, of whom two are appointed by the President at his discretion, two are the Prime Minister's nominees, one is the Chief Justice's nominee and the sixth, the nominee of the Chairman of the Public Service Commission.

Members are appointed on a six-year term on their first appointment. They are eligible for re-appointment for further terms of 4 years each. The present Chairman, Mr J Y Pillay is also the Chairman of the Singapore Exchange Limited.  As Chairman of the Council of Presidential Advisers, Mr Pillay exercises the functions of the office of the President in the absence of the President. If he is unavailable, this duty then falls on the Speaker of Parliament.


Back (from left to right):
Mr S Dhanabalan, Mr J Y Pillay, Prof Cham Tao Soon
Front (from left to right):
Dr Cheong Siew Keong, Mr Sim Kee Boon, Mr Ridzwan bin Haji Dzafir

Click on the above photo for enlarged view  

Government of Singapore

Copyright © 1999 President's Office, Republic of Singapore
Version 3.227, 5 September 2005