>Read more Museum News
>Read more by SFM

Presenting the 2006 Hall of Fame Inductees
by SFM | Museum News | Read more Museum News >>>

Master of Ceremonies Neil Gaiman to Induct George Lucas, Anne McCaffrey, Frank Herbert and Frank Kelly Freas into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame Class of 2006
Frank Kelly Freas, Anne McCaffrey, Frank Herbert and George Lucas

The Science Fiction Museum and Hall of Fame (SFM) announces today its inductees for 2006's Hall of Fame celebration. George Lucas, Frank Herbert, Anne McCaffrey, and Frank Kelly Freas will be honored during SFM's annual induction ceremony at the museum this June 17th, 2006. Best-selling author and filmmaker Neil Gaiman will host the evening's events.

The induction ceremony is part of a weekend program of related events at SFM including the Locus Magazine Awards, emceed by superstar science fiction author Connie Willis. A new display featuring personal artifacts and video footage from each inductee will be added to the existing Hall of Fame exhibit.

Founded in 1996, the Science Fiction Hall of Fame honors the lives, work and ongoing legacies of science fiction's greatest creators. Nominations for induction are submitted by Science Fiction Museum members. The final inductees are chosen by a panel of award-winning science fiction creators.

"It is a great pleasure to induct such a remarkable array of honorees who have each left indelible impressions in the field of science fiction," explains EMP/SFM Artistic Director Bob Santelli. "We're also grateful for the support and consideration from our membership and induction committee."

Nominees are accepted in the following four categories, representing the diversity of science fiction creativity:

Film, Television and Media:

Having created one of the most popular science fiction franchises of all time, it seems only fitting that George Lucas, writer, producer and special effects pioneer be inducted this year for his masterful filmmaking work. In addition to the Star Wars series, Lucas's vision has come to life in his other films such as THX-1138 and installments of the Indiana Jones series (with the fourth currently in production).


The author of the Dune saga, one of science fiction's most prized literary works, as well as nearly 30 other books, Frank Herbert (deceased) will always be celebrated as a visionary writer who seamlessly and elegantly melded themes of human survival, religion and politics into his work. His vision was realized on the big screen by David Lynch in the 1984 production of Dune and again in the 2000 SCI FI Channel miniseries.


With a career spanning more than fifty years, Frank Kelly Freas (deceased) shall forever remain the "Dean of Science Fiction Artists." Having painted hundreds of book covers through the latter half of the 20th Century, this ten-time Hugo-award winner (the first to achieve that number) also contributed illustrations for NASA missions, numerous advertising campaigns and album covers such as Queen's News of the World.


Anne McCaffrey was the first female author to win a Hugo Award for a work of fiction and in 2005 was named the 22nd Grand Master by the Science Fiction Writers of America. Best known for The Dragonriders of Pern and its sequels, McCaffrey has also penned more than 100 best-sellers including Crystal Singer and The Ship Who Sang. Currently residing in Ireland, Anne McCaffrey celebrates her 80th birthday this year.

"I'm delighted to be put in the same company as Andre Norton, Gordie Dickson and Isaac Asimov," comments Anne McCaffrey upon hearing of her forthcoming induction. "I never thought it could happen, since I've admired all three as stars in the fundament of our genre. Thank you!"

Tickets for the induction ceremony are $40 for members and $45 for the general public. The evening includes a seated dessert reception and ceremony. To purchase tickets, call the box office at 206.770.2702.

For more information, please contact:
Christian-Philippe Quilici, Science Fiction Museum & Hall of Fame
206.262.3221 christianq@sfhomeworld.org