OpenSSL    
 General |  Contacts |  Credits 
 
Title
FAQ
About
News
Documents
Source
Contribution
Support
Related

 

About the OpenSSL Project

The goal of the project

The OpenSSL Project is a collaborative effort to develop a robust, commercial-grade, full-featured, and Open Source toolkit implementing the Secure Sockets Layer (SSL v2/v3) and Transport Layer Security (TLS v1) protocols as well as a full-strength general purpose cryptography library managed by a worldwide community of volunteers that use the Internet to communicate, plan, and develop the OpenSSL toolkit and its related documentation.

Derivation and License

OpenSSL is based on the excellent SSLeay library developed by Eric A. Young and Tim J. Hudson. The OpenSSL toolkit is licensed under a Apache-style licence which basically means that you are free to get and use it for commercial and non-commercial purposes.

The OpenSSL Core and Development Team

The OpenSSL project is volunteer-driven. We do not have any specific requirement for volunteers other than a strong willingness to really contribute while following the projects goal. The OpenSSL project is formed by a development team, which consists of the current active developers and other major contributors. Additionally a subset of the developers form the OpenSSL core team which globally manages the OpenSSL project. Anyone wanting to join the development effort should subscribe to the developers mailing list openssl-dev@openssl.org, where all development efforts are coordinated.

The current OpenSSL core team consists of (in alphabetical order):

Individual OpenSSL Email Personal Email Location




Mark J. Cox mark@openssl.org mark@awe.com UK
Ralf S. Engelschall rse@openssl.org rse@engelschall.com DE
Dr. Stephen Henson steve@openssl.org shenson@drh-consultancy.demon.co.uk UK
Ben Laurie ben@openssl.org ben@algroup.co.uk UK

The current OpenSSL development team consists of (in alphabetical order):

Individual OpenSSL Email Personal Email Location  Key ID





Mark J. Cox mark@openssl.org mark@awe.com UK 49A563D9
Ralf S. Engelschall rse@openssl.org rse@engelschall.com DE 26BB437D
Dr. Stephen Henson steve@openssl.org shenson@drh-consultancy.demon.co.uk UK F295C759
Lutz Jänicke jaenicke@openssl.org Lutz.Jaenicke@aet.tu-cottbus.de DE 9C58A66D
Nils Larsch nils@openssl.org nils@larsch.net DE
Ben Laurie ben@openssl.org ben@algroup.co.uk UK 2118CF83
Richard Levitte levitte@openssl.org richard@levitte.org SE F709453B
Bodo Möller bodo@openssl.org bmoeller@acm.org CA 5A6A9B85
Ulf Möller ulf@openssl.org mail@ulfm.de DE
Andy Polyakov appro@openssl.org appro@fy.chalmers.se SE
Geoff Thorpe geoff@openssl.org geoff@geoffthorpe.net QC

OpenSSL Emeritae - old members now off doing other things (in alphabetical order):

Individual OpenSSL Email Personal Email Location




Holger Reif holger@openssl.org holger@reif.net DE
Paul C. Sutton paul@openssl.org paul@awe.com UK