Conference of Champions of Athletic SiteConference of Champions of Athletic SiteConference of Champions of Athletic SiteConference of Champions of Athletic SiteConference of Champions of Athletic Site

P A C 10 Baseball







2006 Pac-10 Baseball Honors Announced


Cole Gillespie, the 2006 Pac-10 Player of the Year, is also a finalist for the Brooks Wallace Award.
Baseball Home

This Week in Pac-10 Baseball

Three Pac-10 Baseball Players Named to Baseball America All-America Team

Six Pac-10 Baseball Players Named to Pro-Line Cap/NCBWA All-American Team

Follow all of the college baseball action at

Email this to a friend


May 31, 2006


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

OREGON STATE junior outfielder Cole Gillespie was named the 2006 Pacific-10 Conference Baseball Player of the Year, while WASHINGTON junior right-hander Tim Lincecum earned Pitcher of the Year honors and ARIZONA STATE freshman Ike Davis was selected as the Freshman of the Year. Oregon State senior second baseman Chris Kunda earned the Conference's first Defensive Player of the Year award in a vote by the Conference baseball coaches. Oregon State skipper Pat Casey earned Coach of the Year honors after guiding the Beavers to their second consecutive league title, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Gillespie, from West Linn, Ore., scored 69 runs in the 2006 regular season, the most by any Pac-10 player this season and a new Oregon State single-season record. He led the Conference with a .683 slugging percentage and tied for first with a .492 on-base percentage, while ranking among the Pac-10 leaders in batting average (.370, 4th), RBI (50, 7th), doubles (20, 3rd), home runs (11, 5th) total bases (129, 5th), and stolen bases (14, t-4th). A Pac-10 Player of the Week honoree on May 29, Gillespie is a finalist for the Brooks Wallace Award.

Lincecum, from Renton, Wash., leads the nation with 12 victories and 199 strikeouts, both Husky records. The right-hander has also set new school marks for career victories (30), career strikeouts (491), and career innings (342). Lincecum's 491 career strikeouts are the most in Pac-10 history. Earning five Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week awards in 2006, Lincecum is a semifinalist for the 2006 Roger Clemens Award, the Dick Howser Trophy and the Brooks Wallace College Player of the Year Award.


Davis, from Scottsdale, Ariz., started 54 of the Sun Devils' 55 games this season, batting .339 in 227 at-bats. He led the league with 65 RBI, the most ever by a Sun Devil freshman, and was tied for fourth among Pac-10 batters with 19 doubles in the regular season. Davis' nine home runs tie him with Bob Horner (1976) for third all-time by a Sun Devil freshman, two behind the 11 knocked out by Barry Bonds in 1983.

Kunda, from Philomath, Ore., earns the Pac-10's first Defensive Player of the Year honor. The senior ranks among the Pac-10 leaders, fielding 33 doubles plays this season (t-8th), and 21 doubles plays in Conference games only (6th). Kunda holds a .977 fielding percentage, putting out 88 and making 120 assists on 213 chances.

Casey earns his third Pac-10 Coach of the Year award after leading the Beavers to a second consecutive Pac-10 championship with a 16-7 record in league play. Oregon State was picked to finish first in the Pac-10 coaches' preseason poll, and the Beavers were a unanimous top-10 pick in the national polls. OSU has been ranked among the nation's best with a 3.53 earned run average and a .973 fielding percentage, while scoring 7.13 runs per game. In 12 years at Oregon State, Casey has a record of 375-248-4. His previous Pac-10 coaching honor came last season, when Oregon State earned the most Conference wins by any Pac-10 team since the league merged its Northern and Southern divisions prior to 1999. Casey also was named the Pac-10 North Co-Coach of the Year in 1997.

Cole Gillespie, OREGON STATE





Name School Pos Yr Ht Wt Hometown
Hector Ambriz UCLA DH RsJr. 6-2 210 Placentia, Calif.
Ryan Babineau UCLA C Fr. 6-2 195 Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.
Darwin Barney OSU INF So. 5-10 175 Beaverton, Ore.
Dallas Buck (2) OSU RHP Jr. 6-3 210 Newberg, Ore.
Zach Clem (2) WASH OF Sr. 6-1 215 Burlington, Wash.
Colin Curtis ASU OF Jr. 6-2 200 Issaquah, Wash.
Matt Cusick USC INF So. 5-10 190 Mission Viejo, Calif.
Ike Davis ASU LHP/OF Fr. 6-2 200 Scottsdale, Ariz.
Cole Gillespie OSU OF Jr. 6-1 200 West Linn, Ore.
Kevin Gunderson (2) OSU RP Jr. 5-10 165 Portland, Ore.
Matt Hague WASH OF So. 6-3 223 Kent, Wash.
Cyle Hankerd USC OF Jr. 6-2 205 Covina, Calif.
Dave Huff UCLA LHP Jr. 6-2 210 Huntington Beach, Calif.
Tim Lincecum (3) WASH RHP Jr. 6-0 165 Renton, Wash.
Jay Miller WSU OF Sr. 5-9 176 Bellevue, Wash.
Chris Minaker STAN INF Sr. 6-0 195 Lynnwood, Wash.
Brandon Morrow CAL RHP Jr. 6-3 190 Rohnert Park, Calif.
Jonah Nickerson (2) OSU RHP Jr. 6-1 195 Oregon City, Ore.
Preston Paramore ASU C Fr. 6-2 195 Allen, Texas
Jared Prince WSU RHP/OF Fr. 6-3 186 Poulsbo, Wash.
Curt Rindal WASH 1B Jr. 6-2 220 Mount Vernon, Wash.
Eric Sogard ASU INF So. 5-9 170 Phoenix, Ariz.

(2) - Two-time All-Conference selection
(3) - Three-time All-Conference selection

Honorable Mention: Daryl Arreola, Sr., ASU; Tony Barnette, Sr., ASU; Brennan Boesch, Jr., CAL; Brett Bordes, Sr., ASU; Brad Boyer, Sr., ARIZ; Mitch Canham, So., OSU; Travis Coulter, Fr., WSU; Jermaine Curtis, Fr., UCLA; Allen Craig, Sr., CAL; Brandon Crawford, Fr., UCLA; Elliott Cribby, So., WASH; Jason Donald, Jr., ARIZ; Hector Estrella, Jr., USC; Baron Frost, Sr., USC; John Gaston, Fr., ARIZ; Chris Jensen, RsSr., UCLA; Ian Kennedy, Jr., USC; Chris Kunda, Sr., OSU; Matt Lane, Jr., WASH; Chris Lewis, Sr., STAN; Shea McFeeley, Sr., OSU; Matt Manship, Sr., STAN; Jim Murphy, So., WSU; Jeff Miller, Jr., WSU; Paul Oseguera, RsJr., UCLA; Greg Reynolds, Jr., STAN; Bill Rhinehart, Jr., ARIZ; Tyson Ross, Fr., CAL; Colt Sedbrook, So., ARIZ ; Blake Sharpe, Sr., USC; TJ Steele, Fr., ARIZ; Michael Taylor, So., STAN; Darin Vieira, Sr., USC; Brett Wallace, Fr., ASU; Travis Webb, Jr., WSU.


PAC-10 Baseball