Daily Almanac for
Jun 14, 2006
Info search tips
Bio search tips

History and GovernmentU.S. Government

Order of Presidential Succession

According to the Presidential Succession Act of 1792, the Senate president pro tempore1 was next in line after the vice president to succeed to the presidency, followed by the Speaker of the House.

In 1886, however, Congress changed the order of presidential succession, replacing the president pro tempore and the Speaker with the cabinet officers. Proponents of this change argued that the congressional leaders lacked executive experience, and none had served as president, while six former secretaries of state had later been elected to that office.

The Presidential Succession Act of 1947, signed by President Harry Truman, changed the order again to what it is today. The cabinet members are ordered in the line of succession according to the date their offices were established.

Prior to the ratification of the 25th Amendment in 1967, there was no provision for filling a vacancy in the vice presidency. When a president died in office, the vice president succeeded him, and the vice presidency then remained vacant. The first vice president to take office under the new procedure was Gerald Ford, who was nominated by Nixon on Oct. 12, 1973, and confirmed by Congress the following Dec. 6.

See also:

Information Please® Database, © 2006 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Central Intelligence Agency DirectorsU.S. GovernmentImpeachments of Federal Officials
  • Page Tools:
    • Cite
    • Print
    • Email

More on Order of Presidential Succession from Infoplease:

  • Presidency on Film - The Presidency on Film by Beth Rowen RELATED LINKS Biographies of Presidents Order of Presidential ...