Head of Department

Mr. D. V. Kulkarni
Department of Mathematics,
Fergusson College,
Pune 411 004

Phone: +91 20 5676607
              +91 20 5654760

The mathematics department is one of the oldest departments of the Fergusson College. Department was fortunate to have very eminent personalities like Lokamanya Tilak, Shri Gopal Krishna Gokhale, Wrangler R. P. Paranjapye, Bharatratna Dhondo Keshav Karve, Wrangler G. S. Mahajani, and Wrangler Chandratre on its faculty. The department is located in the main building of the Fergusson College.

During the seventies the department initiated and organized various competitions locally, which ultimately culminated into the Maths Olympiad at the state, and national levels. The National Board of Higher Mathematics (NBHM) appreciated and welcomed these activities and instituted annual grants from 1988 in their support. Many teachers from the department help in training students for the Regional Mathematics Olympiad (RMO) as well as for the International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) training camps.

The department is involved in teaching right from Std. XI to B.Sc. In year 2003, the department started a self-financed postgraduate program M. Sc. Tech. (Industrial and Applied mathematics with computer applications). In year 2004, the department received a permission to set up a “Research center in Mathematics”.
Note: The information provided above has been last modified on Tuesday, February 08, 2005.
Related Sections:
Science Department Undergraduate Courses Autonomous Courses Short-term Courses
Arts Department Postgraduate Courses Vocational Courses Other Courses
© 2006 Fergusson College, Pune, India. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions |  Privacy Policy

Site Credits