Visit the USGS Home Page Go to the Astrogeology Research Program Home Page

Names for the Columbia astronauts provisionally approved

Lunar map of craters provisionally named for Columbia astronauts
Opens in a new window
Names for seven craters in the Apollo basin on the Moon have been provisionally approved by the International Astronomical Union to honor the seven Space Shuttle Columbia astronauts. The names can be seen in the list of lunar crater names in the Gazetteer of Planetary Nomenclature.

The names are:




L. Clark

M. Anderson

D. Brown


Note that first initials have been used for Anderson, Brown, and Clark to distingiush them from other crater names on the Moon which honor persons with the same surnames.