U.S. Department of State
Secretary Rice Meets With Foreign Minist...  |  Daily Press Briefing | Other News...U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
SEARCHU.S. Department of State
Subject Index
U.S. Department of State
HomeIssues & PressTravel & BusinessYouth & EducationAbout State Department
U.S. Department of StateUnder Secretary for Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs > Bureau of Public Affairs > Press Relations Office > Press Releases (Other) > 2006 > May 
Fact Sheet
Office of the Spokesman
Washington, DC
May 8, 2006

Darfur Peace Agreement

The Darfur Peace Agreement, signed May 5, 2006, by the largest rebel group, the Sudan Liberation Movement, led by Mini Menawi, and the Sudanese Government, is an important achievement for peace in Darfur. It is a fair agreement that addresses the long-standing marginalization of Darfur, and charts a path for lasting peace for the innocent victims of the crisis.

The agreement requires that the Sudanese Government of National Unity complete verifiable disarmament and demobilization of Janjaweed militia by mid-October 2006 and places restrictions on the movements of the Popular Defense Forces and requires their downsizing. A detailed sequencing and phasing schedule ensures that the African Union certifies that Janjaweed and other armed militia have been disarmed before rebel forces assemble and prepare for their own disarmament and demobilization. The agreement stipulates that 4,000 former combatants be integrated into the Sudanese Armed Forces, 1,000 be integrated into the police forces, and 3,000 be supported through education and training programs. The former combatants will be integrated in groups of 100-150 and will comprise 33 percent of each integrated battalion.

Democratic processes have been laid out for the people of Darfur to choose their leaders and determine their status as a region. Rebel signatories of the agreement were awarded the 4th highest position in the Sudanese Government of National Unity: Senior Assistant to the President and Chairperson of the newly established Transitional Darfur Regional Authority (TDRA). The TDRA will be responsible for implementation of the peace agreement in Darfur and the rebel movements will have effective control of that body. In July 2010, a popular referendum will be held to decide whether to establish Darfur as a unitary region with a single government. For the three-year period prior to elections, the agreement grants the rebel movements twelve seats in the National Assembly in Khartoum, 21 seats in each of the Darfur State legislatures, one State Governor and two Deputy State Governors in Darfur, senior positions in State Ministries, and key posts in local governments.

The accord commits the international community to holding a donors’ conference to pledge additional funds for Darfur, and invites the TDRA Chairperson to present to that conference a summary of needs and priorities. The GNU is mandated to contribute $300 million initially and then $200 million/year for the next two years to rebuild the region. A Joint Assessment Mission – modeled on the one done for Southern reconstruction after the Comprehensive (North-South) Peace Agreement – will be established to determine the specific reconstruction and development needs of Darfur.

Buffer zones are to be established around camps for internally displaced persons and humanitarian assistance corridors, and a commission has been created to work with the United Nations to help refugees and displaced persons return to their homes. The agreement provides that the Sudanese Government will provide $30 million in compensation to victims of the conflict.


U.S. Department of State
FirstGovU.S. Department of StateUpdates  |  Frequent Questions  |  Contact Us  |  Email this Page  |  Subject Index  |  Search
The Office of Electronic Information, Bureau of Public Affairs, manages this site as a portal for information from the U.S. State Department. External links to other Internet sites should not be construed as an endorsement of the views or privacy policies contained therein.
FOIA  |  Privacy Notice  |  Copyright Information  |  Other U.S. Government Information