IRB Organisation

The International Rugby Board (IRB) was founded in 1886. With its headquarters in Dublin, the IRB is the world governing and Law making body for the game of Rugby Union. The day to day business of the Board is conducted by a professional staff of over 40, the majority of whom are based in Dublin. There are 8 Regional Development Managers working in Europe, Asia, Africa,The Americas and Oceania.

Rugby is played by men and women, boys and girls, in more that 100 countries across 5 continents. The IRB membership currently totals 95 Unions in full membership, 20 Associate members and six Regional Associations.

The Executive Council, under the Chairmanship of Dr. Syd Millar, meets twice a year. It consists of the eight foundations Unions each with two seats - Scotland, Ireland, Wales, England, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and France. Argentina, Canada, Italy and Japan each have one seat on the Council as does FIRA-AER.

The full membership meets at a General Meeting convened every two years. Regional meetings are held at regular intervals.

There are a number of tournaments under IRB control, including the Womens Rugby World Cup, Rugby World Cup Sevens, IRB Sevens, Under 21 World Cup, Under 19 World Championship and the Super Powers Cup. The principal IRB property is, however, Rugby World Cup.

IRB Sevens website >>
2006 Women's Rugby World Cup >>
IRB U19 World Championship website >>
IRB U21 World Championship website >>
IRB Awards website >>
RWC Sevens website >>

Rugby World Cup

Rugby World Cup (RWC) is the financial engine which drives the development of the game world-wide. The revenues from RWC provide the IRB with the funds which are distributed to the Member Unions to aid and assist them in the expansion and development of the game.

Rugby World Cup Ltd, under the control and direction of the IRB, is the owner of all rights associated with the Tournament. Under the Chairmanship of Dr. Syd Millar the RWC Board members are - Jacques Laurans (France), Bill Beaumont (England), Bob Tuckey (Australia) and Mike Miller (Chief Executive Officer IRB and Managing Director RWCL).

The inaugural Rugby World Cup was held in New Zealand and Australia in 1987. The first winners of the Webb Ellis Cup were New Zealand. In 1991 Australia were the winners at Twickenham; South Africa, as hosts, were the winners in 1995; and in 1999 Australia won the Cup for a second time at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff.

With a world wide television audience in excess of 3 billion four years ago, RWC has become established as the third most important sporting event behind the Olympics and the FIFA World Cup.

Rugby World Cup 2007 website >>
Rugby World Cup 2003 website >>