Powered by CBS SportsLine.comNFL.com
NFL.com Official Site of the National Football League
 Home|News|Scores|Stats|Schedules|Standings|Teams|Players|Rosters|Depth Charts
Join the Team
NFL Sites
More NFL
About Us
2006 Pro Bowl
Pro Bowl  
Record 70.5 million All-Star votes cast

Record 1.9 million mobile votes cast via Sprint Wireless

Manning receives record 1.18 million votes

(Dec. 19, 2005) -- Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning received a record 1,184,142 votes to lead NFL All-Stars in balloting for the 2006 Pro Bowl, the NFL announced. Presented by Sprint, Pro Bowl voting on NFL.com, in stadiums and via the Sprint wireless service ended Dec. 16.

There were a record 70.5 million votes cast on NFL.com and via the Sprint wireless service -- a 16 percent increase over the 61 million cast last year.

In the tally was a record 1.9 million mobile votes via Sprint wireless -- nearly 200 times the 10,000 mobile votes cast last year.

Seattle Seahawks running back Shaun Alexander (1,110,575 votes) ranked second overall while San Diego Chargers running back LaDainian Tomlinson (1,044,360), Cincinnati Bengals wide receiver Chad Johnson (987,650) and Chargers tight end Antonio Gates (941,846) rounded out the top five.

The teams will be announced at 4 p.m. (ET) on Wednesday, Dec. 21, on the 2006 Pro Bowl Selection Show on ESPN. The Pro Bowl will be played in Hawaii on Sunday, Feb. 12, and televised by ESPN.

In addition to casting ballots on NFL.com and in stadiums, fans cast their Pro Bowl ballot by sending a text message via Sprint wireless to vote for their favorite players at each position.

Fans who voted for their Pro Bowl players were able to enter for a chance to win a trip to the Pro Bowl in the 2006 NFL Pro Bowl Sweepstakes presented by Sprint. The Grand Prize includes an all-expense-paid trip to the game in Honolulu as well as exclusive experiences such as the chance to meet and talk football with Pro Football Hall of Fame quarterback John Elway, attend practice, take a tour of Aloha Stadium, obtain pregame sideline passes and more.

The AFC and NFC All-Star squads are made up of the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches. Each group's vote counts one-third towards determining the 43-man rosters that represent the American Football Conference and National Football Conference in the Pro Bowl. NFL players and coaches will cast their votes on Dec. 19-20.

The NFL is the only sports league that combines voting by fans, coaches and players to determine its all-star teams. It was the first professional sports league to offer online all-star voting in 1995. Listed below are the top 10 offensive and defensive vote-getters, the top 10 wireless vote-getters, the top five rookie vote-getters, and the players with the most votes at each position:

Pos.Name, TeamVotesPos.Name, TeamVotes
QBPeyton Manning, Colts1,184,142 ILBBrian Urlacher, Bears447,145
RBShaun Alexander, Seahawks 1,110,575 CBChamp Bailey, Broncos379,477
RBLaDainian Tomlinson, Chargers1,044,360 DEDwight Freeney, Colts374,289
WRChad Johnson, Bengals987,650 CBDeltha O'Neal, Bengals373,918
TEAntonio Gates, Chargers941,846 DEMichael Strahan, Giants348,765
QBCarson Palmer, Bengals938,676 ILRod Coleman, Falcons307,839
RBEdgerrin James, Colts920,815 DEKyle Vanden Bosch, Titans292,990
WRMarvin Harrison, Colts 876,332 CBDeAngelo Hall, Falcons287,958
TEJeremy Shockey, Giants872,102 CBTy Law, Jets283,449
WRSteve Smith, Panthers752,723 ILMontae Reagor, Colts282,891

Pos.Name, TeamVotes
RBCarnell "Cadillac" Williams, Buccaneers219,736
TEHeath Miller, Steelers217,928
OLBDeMarcus Ware, Cowboys104,592
PChris Kluwe, Vikings100,555
ILBOdell Thurman, Bengals88,715

Pos.Name, TeamVotesPos.Name, TeamVotes
QBPeyton Manning, Colts 1,184,142DEDwight Freeney, Colts374,289
RBLaDainian Tomlinson, Chargers1,044,360ILMontae Reagor, Colts282,891
FBPatrick Pass, Patriots267,697OLBKeith Bulluck, Titans231,008
WRChad Johnson, Bengals987,650ILBZach Thomas, Dolphins252,825
TEAntonio Gates, Chargers941,846CBChamp Bailey, Broncos379,477
TWillie Roaf, Chiefs162,586SSTroy Polamalu, Steelers270,348
GAlan Faneca, Steelers233,581FSJohn Lynch, Broncos161,102
CJeff Saturday, Colts234,847PTodd Sauerbrun, Broncos176,240
KShayne Graham, Bengals224,217STRobert Mathis, Colts130,890
KRDante Hall, Chiefs269,541

Pos.Name, TeamVotesPos.Name, TeamVotes
QBEli Manning, Giants667,608DEMichael Strahan, Giants348,765
RBShaun Alexander, Seahawks1,110,575ILRod Coleman, Falcons307,839
FBChris Cooley, Redskins422,314OLBDemorrio Williams, Falcons244,419
WRSteve Smith, Panthers752,723ILBBrian Urlacher, Bears420,983
TEJeremy Shockey, Giants872,102CBDeAngelo Hall, Falcons287,958
TOrlando Pace, Rams185,095SSRoy Williams, Cowboys216,180
GLarry Allen, Cowboys248,561FSBrian Dawkins, Eagles193,166
COlin Kreutz, Bears207,047PJosh Bidwell, Buccaneers236,305
KNeil Rackers, Cardinals533,004STBrendon Ayanbadejo, Bears91,303
KRWillie Ponder, Giants182,228

Pos.Name, Team
QBPeyton Manning, Colts
QBMichael Vick, Falcons
WRMarvin Harrison, Colts
RBShaun Alexander, Seahawks
RBEdgerrin James, Colts
RBLaDainian Tomlinson, Chargers
LBBrian Urlacher, Bears
QBEli Manning, Giants
WRChad Johnson, Bengals
QBCarson Palmer, Bengals

Throughout the season fans can get the latest NFL information from NFL Mobile on Sprint wireless phones. NFL Mobile provides a first-of-its-kind package of programming designed specifically for wireless, giving fans exclusive access to NFL content and original programming. The package includes NFL Network, exclusive video- and audio-on-demand highlights from NFL Films, and up-to-the-minute team/player scores, stats and injury reports.

About Sprint Nextel

Sprint Nextel offers a comprehensive range of wireless and wireline communications services to consumer, business and government customers. Sprint Nextel is widely recognized for developing, engineering and deploying innovative technologies, including two robust wireless networks offering industry leading mobile data services; instant national and international walkie-talkie capabilities; and an award-winning and global Tier 1 Internet backbone. For more information, visit www.sprint.com.