Healthe - Sydney FC Title Sponsor
Star City
Business Print Australia
Sydney Morning Herald

Sydney FC qualifies for semis after 0-0 draw

Saturday, 29 July, 2006 - 3:13PM
Sydney FC qualified for the semi finals of the Pre Season Cup following a 0-0 draw with the New Zealand Knights in Auckland today.

Sydney FC has now gone three games without defeat, following victories over Queensland Roar and the Newcastle Jets, and with seven points is assured of a semi final place going into the final round.

Sydney FC rounds out the group stage of the Pre Season Cup with a clash against Perth Glory at WIN Stadium next Saturday afternoon.

Today’s game was played at a fast pace with both sides having chances but neither team could break the stalemate.

Sydney FC striker David Zdrilic came the closest in the 14th minute when he beat Knights goalkeeper Danny Milosevic only to have the ball cleared off the line.

The visitors had several chances to take all three points late with Alex Brosque hitting the post, David Carney thwarted by a diving Milocevic and Alvin Ceccoli sending a trademark drive narrowly over the crossbar.

Sydney FC, however, had to rely on a great save by Bolton at the feet of new Knights recruit Daniel Rodrigues in the 90th minute.

Next Saturday’s clash with Perth Glory at WIN Stadium kicks off at 5pm.

Match details:
Sydney FC 0 drew New Zealand Knights 0
North Harbour Stadium
Referee: Peter O’Leary
Crowd: 3121

Sydney FC
1. Clint Bolton
2. Iain Fyfe
3. Alvin Ceccoli
4 Mark Rudan
6. Ufuk Talay
7. Robbie Middleby
9. David Zdrilic
12. David Carney
14. Alex Brosque
15. Terry McFlynn
16. Mark Milligan

10. Steve Corica on for 7. Robbie Middleby (70th minute)
11. Sasho Petrovski on for 9. David Zdrilic (61st minute)
21. Nikolai Topor-Stanley on for 6. Ufuk Talay (78th minute)
20. Justin Pasfield (gk) did not play

Yellow cards: Mark Rudan 35

New Zealand Knights
1. Danny Milosevic
2. Darren Bazeley
3. Gregory Duruz
7. Richard Johnson
9. Daniel Rodrigues
11. Jonti Richter
13. Jonas Salley
14. Malik Buari
16. Noah Hickey
17. Frank Van Eijs
19. Simi Kovacevic

15. Adam Casey on for 11. Jonti Richter (85th minute)
10. Sean Devine on for 16. Noah Hickey (90th minute)
18. Michael White (not used)

Yellow cards: Richard Johnson 53, Jonas Salley 80.