Home  |  Media  |  Site Map
Home > Sporting Sections > Cricket
Join the MCC
Media Centre
Member Services
Photo ID Cards
Sporting Sections
Achievement Database
2000-01 Cricket News

MCC Players win VCA contracts June 19, 2001

Melbourne Cricket Club 1st XI regulars Brad Hodge, Shane Harwood and Andrew McDonald have been rewarded for their efforts with VCA contracts for season 2001/2002.

Brad Hodge
Born: 29 December 1974, Sandringham, Victoria
Major Teams: Victoria.
Batting Style: Right Hand Bat
Bowling Style:Right Arm Off Break
A player endowed with substantial ability, Brad Hodge is a diminutive right handed batsman, occasional off spin bowler, and brilliant fieldsman from Victoria. Following an exodus of some of the state's best batsmen at the time, Hodge was thrust into domestic cricket in 1993/94 at the tender age of eighteen but the prospect did not initially appear to faze him. He made nine scores in excess of fifty and compiled nearly one thousand runs in his first season as he took over the number four spot and caught opposition bowlers by surprise with the variety and fluency of his shots. In the intervening years, his one-day form has stood out over his first-class performances but another very powerful demonstration of his talent in four-day cricket came in 2000-01 when he amassed more than one thousand runs for the season and finished third in the Pura Cup Player of the Season award. Hodge has a classically correct technique, hits the ball beautifully, and can direct strokes to all parts of the wicket. On his day, he is certainly among the most attractive players to watch in Australian cricket. (John Polack, March 2001)

Shane Harwood
Born: 1 March 1974, Ballarat
Major Teams: Victoria Country, Victoria Second XI.
Batting Style: Right Hand Bat
Bowling Style: Right Arm Fast Medium

Andrew McDonald (Rookie Contract)
Born: 15 June 1981

MCC Club Awards 2000-01 May 5 2001

At the Cricket Section's Presentation Dinner held in the Members Dining Room at the MCG on Friday 4th May the following trophy winners were announced.

MCC Club Champion Trophy - Awarded to the best player in the 1st X1: Lincoln McRae
Brian Watson Memorial Trophy- Awarded for an "outstanding performance by an MCC cricketer": Andrew McDonald
MCC XX1X Club Award - Awarded to the young player who has produced outstanding performances and demonstrated substantial potential: Peter Dickson
"Kiwi" Memorial Trophy - Awarded to the Best Clubman: Paul Jubber
Club X1 Team Award - Awarded to the best contributer to the team: Claud Reid
MCC XX1X Club Dowling Shield - Awarded to the best player in the Dowling Shield tea:. Ben Macrae
Hector Donahoo Memorial Trophy - Awarded to the premier team in the MCC Club X1 competition: Old Xaverians Cricket Club

Player of the Round Pewters were awarded to the following: Robert Ashton, Eivion Bowen, Liam Gledhill, Justin Graham, Phil Halbish, Ben Hanley, Laurie Heath, David Johnston, Paul Jubber, Andrew Kent, Hadyn Lane, David McCann, Matthew Pinniger, Stephen Ryalls, Anton Scholtz & Nick Sharp

Average Winners
1st X1 Warren Ayres 498 runs at 38.30 & Phil Halbish 23 wickets at 26.21
2nd X1 Robert Ashton 376 runs at 53.71 & Stephen O'Flynn 31 wickets at 15.48
3rd X1 Robert Cooper 372 runs at 53.14 & Nick Quinn 34 wickets at 16.44
4th X1 Ben Hanley 529 runs at 75.57 & Justin Graham 27 wickets at 11.33
Club X1 Tony Hargreaves 51 runs at 25.50 & 6 wickets at 12.16
Dowling Shield Tony Meyer 188 runs at 47.00 & Ben Macrae 9 wickets at 12.00

Major Teams: Commonwealth Bank Cricket Academy, Victoria Under-19s, Victoria Second XI, Australia Under-19s.
Batting Style: Right Hand Bat
Bowling Style: Right Arm Medium Fast

MCC Team of the Century

Our best 12 since 1906 has been selected as part of a VCA promotional program.

The selectors, Percy Beames, Clive Fairbairn and Bob Lloyd, had a very difficult task but ultimately have chosen a team about which few would argue.

MCC Team of the Century
W.H. Ponsford
C.C. McDonald
D.M. Jones
H.S.T.L. Hendry
A.P. Sheahan
W.W. Armstrong
R.I. Templeton
M.N.H. Walker
H.I. Ebeling
H. Ironmonger
V.S. Ransford
(12th man)

Qualifications were that players had to be chosen from 1906-07 (first year of the VCA), should have completed at least one season with the club but also could be chosen another club (eg. Woodfull, Rigg, Dean Jones).

Selectors were asked to provide a well-balanced combination of batsmen, bowlers and all-rounders, and to nominate the captain and twelfth man.

A staccato summary of our selection problems from Bob Lloyd: "Difficult to overlook past players with test records. Some obvious legends, like Ayres, Herman, McCooke, King and Daniel, couldn't be considered when comparing past records.

"Only our keeper (Templeton) hadn't played Tests. Our biggest deficiency was the lack of a true, downwind quick to take the new ball.

"We finished up going for Hans. Ransford was unlucky to miss, given his 22 tests. Hendry got his spot as the first-change bowler we needed for team balance.

"There's a fair range of talent from most eras, but 1940-70 is a bit light with only McDonald and Sheahan. We'd have liked to include Rigg, Darling, Fleetwood-Smith and Graeme Watson but just couldn't fit them in."

The team was announced by Bob Lloyd at the Members Dinner on 1 December, 1999.

MCC succumbs to old foe at Lord’s 26 July, 2001

The Marylebone Cricket Club continued its recent on-field dominance of the MCC with a 23-run victory in the now traditional match at Lord’s on Tuesday.

Captained by former Australian Test player and ex-Melbourne Cricket Club employee Tony Dodemaide, Marylebone scored 8/217 from their allotted 50 overs and then dismissed the MCC for 194).

Dodemaide, now the Head of Cricket at Marylebone, scored a crucial 46 runs in the lower order to help Marylebone to a 3-1 lead in head-to-head Ashes tour battles since the inaugural game in 1993 at Lord’s.

Brad Hodge, the recently appointed Victorian Bushrangers vice-captain and last season’s Pura Cup and Mercantile Mutual Victorian Player of the Year captained the MCC team.

The pick of the bowlers for the MCC was young off-spinner Haydn Lane, who recovered from a mauling at the hands of Mike Gatting on the recent Hong Kong tour to take 3-34 from his 10 overs.

Chasing 218 for victory, the MCC stumbled to 7-118 before a spirited 59-run partnership from Lincoln McRae and Charlie Sutherland breathed some life into the contest. Alas, it wasn’t to be as the MCC lost it’s last wicket with 23 runs required and still 17 balls remaining.

All players and dignitaries attended a post-match black-tie dinner at Lord’s from both clubs, including MCC President Bruce Church and Secretary Stephen Gough.

Final scores:

Marylebone C.C. 8-217 (50 overs)

(Haydn Lane 3-34, Charlie Sutherland 2-39, Robert Cooper 2-32)

Melbourne C.C. 194 (47.1 overs)

(Lincoln McRae 42, Brad Hodge 36, Charlie Sutherland 32 n.o.)
MCC Cricket News
2005/06 MCC Cricket Annual Report
MCC Test Players
Buchanan wins 2004/05 club champion award
Demons snare 3rd XI flag
3rd and 4th XI win one-day titles
Cook sends down final delivery
Farewell Doug, a People's Chairman
McDonald crowned 2003/04 club champion
MCC wins Dowling Shield final
Buchanan cleans up 2002/03 awards night
2002/03 Premier Cricket Scorecards
Fourth XI wins one-day title
Hans Ebeling Award
Jack 'Dasher' Daniel dies
2001/02 MCC Cricket Presentation Dinner
2001/02 MCC Cricket Award winners
2001/02 Cricket News
2000-01 Cricket News
Go to the official site of the Melbourne Cricket Ground.
Visit sportal.com.au Contact  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions
All material unless indicated otherwise © Melbourne Cricket Club 1838 - 2003
Phone: (03) 9657 8888 Fax: (03) 9650 5682