Law Council of Australia  
skip navigation

5 November 2004

2004 Young Lawyer Award Winners

Law Council President Steve Southwood QC has congratulated the winners of the 2004 Australian Young Lawyer Awards, announced today in Canberra.

The awards, which recognise excellence in young lawyers and young lawyer organisations, are conducted each year by the Australian Young Lawyers' Committee of the Law Council of Australia.

The judging panel comprised ACT Supreme Court Chief Justice Terence Higgins, the Law Council of Australia's Tim Bugg, and Chair of the Law Council's Australian Young Lawyers' Committee Radhika Kanhai.

The individual award for continuous and outstanding contributions to the profession and the community was won by Aleecia Murray from Minter Ellison in Adelaide.

Mr Southwood said Aleecia had worked tirelessly assisting refugees, law students and high school students. "The judging panel was particularly impressed, given her very recent admission into the legal profession, and was mindful of the work she had already undertaken prior to admission," he said.

The award for developing programs relating to professional issues went to the Law Institute of Victoria Young Lawyers' Section for their Establishment of the Later Lawyers Network. Chief Justice Higgins said that those who came to law as a second career were often neglected, and for this reason the entry was considered very worthy of the award.

A third award, for programs relating to community issues, was won by the New South Wales Young Lawyers Criminal Law Committee for their Presentations to School-age Children throughout NSW about Criminal Law and their Rights.

"All of the applicants for awards in each of the three categories are to be congratulated. The panel was greatly impressed by the high standard in each category and the breadth of achievement in each of the nominations," Mr Southwood concluded.
Media Contact: Elenore Eriksson,
Director Public Affairs - 02 6246 3716/0419 269 855

[Back to 2004 Media Releases]


GPO Box 1989
Canberra ACT 2601

Tel: (02) 6246 3788
Fax: (02) 6248 0639