Notre Dame Sociology

honors2001-2002.gif (9877 bytes)

Congratulations go out to:

  Daniel Myers, who has been re-appointed as Chair of the Department of Sociology.  Dan will also serve the College as the Senior Executive Fellow for the Social Sciences, where his duties will include finding strategies to enhance research funding, reviewing and advancing infrastructure support, and making initial preparations for seeking resources for additional space for the social sciences
  Chris Smith, whose book (with Melinda Lundquist Denton) "SOUL SEARCHING: The Religious and Spiritual Lives of American Teenagers" won the Christianity and Culture Award from Christianity Today.  Among the book’s findings is that American teenagers are far more influenced by the religious beliefs and practices of their parents than commonly thought, and that greater teenage religious involvement is significantly associated with more positive adolescent life outcomes.  Chris was also recently elected chair of the ASA Section on the Sociology of Religion.  Chris joins the Notre Dame faculty this year as the Director of the Center for the Study of American Religion.
  Maureen Hallinan, who has been selected by her peers at the University of Notre Dame as the recipient of the 2006 Faculty Award. A member of the faculty since 1984 and an award-winning teacher and scholar, Hallinan is one of the nation’s leading researchers on education quality.
  Michael Welch, who has been promoted to Full Professor.
  David Sikkink, who has been promoted to Associate Professor with tenure.
  Daniel Myers, who has been named editor of Mobilization, the leading journal for the social movements and collective behavior specialty area.  Dan officially begins his term in January 2007.  Starting in Fall 2006, Dan will also head up a new university research center called the "Center for the Study of Social Movements and Social Change."
  Chuck Pressler and Mark Gunty, winners of Kaneb Undergraduate Teaching awards.  The Kaneb Awards recognize outstanding teaching by tenured faculty and professional specialists.
  Jorge Bustamante, who has been nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize. The nomination recognizes his tireless advocacy for the human and labor rights of immigrants.
  Kevin Christiano, who has been elected Council member at-large for the North Central Sociological Association.
  Brandy Ellison, winner of a 2006 Kaneb Graduate Student Teaching Award.
  Sarah MacMillan, winner of the Jeanine Becker Outstanding Graduate Student Paper Award.
David Ortiz, winner of the John J. Kane Memorial Award. This award is presented annually to the department's most outstanding graduate student.
Matt Larner, winner of the David L. Dodge Memorial Teaching Award. This award is conferred annually on the graduate student in our program who has most distinguished himself or herself in the teaching of undergraduates.
  Elizabeth Bullock, winner of the 2006 Margaret Eisch Memorial Award. The Eisch Award is given each year to the outstanding graduating senior majoring in Sociology.  The Eisch family established the award in memory of their daughter Margaret, a Notre Dame Sociology major who died in 1976.
  Rachel Thelen, winner of the 2006 Sociology Senior Essay Award.  This award is given each year for the best essay or research paper submitted by a graduating senior or seniors on a topic of sociological relevance.  Rachel's paper was entitled "Policy Preference, Party Affiliation, and Protest."
  Elizabeth Bullock, who has been appointed a Junior Fellow of the American Academy of Political and Social Science.  This program  recognizes the very best undergraduate students for their achievements in analyzing social problems and for their promise of becoming tomorrow’s outstanding social scientists.
  Seniors Charlene Baron, Megan Bears, Marques Bolden, Kathleen Brophy, Elizabeth Bullock, Kelli Delay, Stephan Heiny, Sean Huang, Michele Jeffers, Rebecca Keller, William Kiolbasa, Molly Miner, Christina Ostrowski, Kara Santelli, Megan Sheehan, Aimee Shelide, Jennifer Smith, Edward Song, Anne St. Claire, Rachel Thelen, and Anthony Velardi,  who have been selected for induction into AKD, the Sociological Honor Society.
  Juniors Clare Duncan, Maryann Erigha, Rachel Lewis, Amanda McBride, and Kelly McDermott,  who have been selected for induction into AKD, the Sociological Honor Society.
  Charlene Baron, Marques Bolden, Elizabeth Bullock, and Rachel Thelen, who successfully completed the Sociology Capstone Project.
  Eileen Diaz McConnell , who has accepted a position as Assistant Professor at Arizona State University.
  Sung Chang Chun , who has joined the faculty of Mercy College in Ohio as an Assistant Professor.
  Michelle Janning (Ph.D. 2000), who has been promoted to Associate Professor with tenure at Whitman College.
  Lissa Yogan (Ph.D. 2000), who has been elected Vice President of the North Central Sociological Association.

This web page was last modified on  September 01, 2006

You can send Email to Notre Dame Sociology at Soc@ND.Edu

Visit Notre Dame HomePage   Visit the College of Arts and Letters Home Page  Visit the Graduate School Home Page   Go back to Sociology Main Page